Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Thursday, August 12, 2010

Zhēn Jī 甄姬

Posted by Ricky Chua On 10:00 PM 14 comments
Translated description:
"The ill-fated Beauty 薄幸的美人 (bō xìng dè měi rén)"

Wikipedia link: Zhen Ji Wiki

Who is she:
An extremely beautiful woman with smarts and capability, Zhen Ji was Cao Pi 曹丕's first wife. The word 姬 is a title for "lady". Thus her real name is not Zhen Ji, but rather Zhen Luo 甄洛. Her life was a down-hill rollercoaster of misfortune and victimization. She lost her father at the age of 2, was married to Yuan Shao 袁绍's son Yuan Xi 袁熙, but was forcefully remarried to Cao Pi after he became obsessed with her beauty. After giving birth to Cao Rui 曹睿, she fell out of favor with Cao Pi due to rumours and bad-mouthing from his concubine, Guo Nu Wang 郭女王. Zhen Ji never did manage to win back Cao Pi's favor. Instead, the bad-mouthing from Guo Nu Wang became worse. Zhen Ji paid the ultimate price when Cao Pi, poisoned by Guo Nu Wang's words, forced Zhen Ji to commit suicide.

Character ability 1: "Impetus for War 倾国 (qīng guó)"
Every one of your on-hand card that is a "club" or a "spade" suit can be used as DODGE 闪.

Character ability 2: "Goddess Luo 洛神 (luò shén)"
At the beginning of your turn, you can flip a judgement card. If the judgement card is a black-suited card ("clubs" or "spades"), you can keep the card as an on-hand card and can continue to flip over another judgement card. Once the judgement card is red-suited card, the ability ends and you cannot keep that red-suited card.

(Important note: This ability takes precedence BEFORE the judgement of time-delay tool cards (such as LIGHTNING).

It is perfectly possible for Zhen Ji to amass over 10 cards in a row using this ability, provided it is a string of consecutive black-suited cards. It is also perfectly possible to amass none at all if the very first card is red-suited.

Note that after the ability ends, Zhen Ji can still draw 2 more cards from the deck as per normal. (Yes she will have a shit load of cards if she's lucky!)


Ability's relation to story:
"Impetus to war" is not linked to the story. Though we know that Cao Pi peeled her from Yuan Xi, she was not the reason Cao Cao destroyed Yuan Shao and family. This ability is probably centered around game mechanics than history. "Goddess Luo" stems from a poem written by Cao Zhi 曹植, Cao Pi's brother, known as "Goddess of the Luo River 洛水之神", apparently praising the goddess for her ethereal beauty, intelligence and capability. It is rumoured that Cao Zhi had an affair with Zhen Ji.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Giving birth to the man who would become Emperor of Wei, Cao Rui. This became the sore point that eventually led to her death, because Guo Nu Wang poisoned Cao Pi into believing that Cao Rui is not his child but Yuan Xi's.

2. Cause of death - Suicide... but more likely forced than willing. The exact method of death is unclear, but one story goes that Cao Pi personally handed her a glass of poison to drink. Zhen Ji knows full well what it means, so after drinking but before the poison takes effect, she cleans the glass. This is so as to protect Cao Pi's reputation, since for an emperor to murder his own wife is detrimental to his reign.


FAQ and Disambiguation:

Goddess Luo
1. If Zhen Ji has a RATIONS DEPLETED 兵粮寸断 or ACEDIA 乐不思蜀 awaiting judgement, does the judgement for "Goddess Luo" ability come first, or the judgement for these tool cards goes first?

Ans: Goddess Luo goes first. Once the ability is concluded, then judgement of the tool cards is next.


2. Can the judgement cards for Goddess Luo be tinkered with by Si Ma Yi 司马懿 or Zhang Jiao 张角?

Ans: Yes! Both these characters can change the Goddess Luo judgement cards.


3. If the judgement card is tinkered by Si Ma Yi or Zhang Jiao, does Zhen Ji keep the card after tinkering or before?

Ans: Zhen Ji keeps the card AFTER tinkering.


4. If a red-suited card is flipped for this ability, but Si Ma Yi changes it to a black-suited card, can Zhen Ji continue to use the ability to amass more cards?

Ans: Yes she can.


5. When Zhen Ji flips a card using her GoddessLuo ability, are these flipped cards considered judgement cards?

Ans: Yes they are judgement cards.

14 comments:

  1. Is her ability Goddess Luo a judgement? Because Cao Pi combined with her powers allows him to draw a card for every black suit she draws.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes it is considered a judgement card. Which is why Zhen Ji pairs up very well with Cao Pi (they are husband and wife).

    Every one black card that she receives using Goddess Luo, Cao Pi gets to draw one card but only if he is the ruler (its his Ruler ability).

    ReplyDelete
  3. Can you use king cards out of the role of the king? Playing a normal game could Cao Pi be used as a killer?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes all the ruler characters can be used as other roles as well. they just don't have their ruler ability.

    ReplyDelete
  5. After reading that the ability of hers is a judgment. Could you please change the description on the top to reflect the additional info? Because it would signify that Sami Yi and the lightning dude can change her card gathering ability.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Duly amended! I also added in a small FAQ section to address some of the issues.

    ReplyDelete
  7. If Zhen Ji has a time-delay tool card awaiting judgement,
    and when she trigger her "Goddess Luo" and happen to draw an "NEGATE" card, can she use that "NEGATE" card immediately against the time-delay tool card?

    ReplyDelete
  8. To Anonymous: Yes, she can.

    ReplyDelete
  9. can her 1st ability be negated?

    ReplyDelete
  10. Question: Suppose if Zhen Ji drew a red-suited card using "Goddess Luo", but it was exchanged with a black-suited card by Si Ma Yi. Does she keep BOTH cards (essentially meaning Si Ma Yi gave her additional one card), or only the card that Si Ma Yi used to exchange the judgment with?

    ReplyDelete
  11. ^ Lady Zhen gets the black card Sima Yi played to replace the judgement card.

    Also, Sima Yi cannot "exchange" the judgement card, but "replace" it. He cannot take the original judgement card. Only Zhang Jiao can take the original judgement card as his on-hand card.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I saw a page that had a double generals mode, and I used Zhen Ji and gan ning. I got like 20 cards with her goddess luo ability and left everyone without a card. Except myself. Luckily I was the defector!

    ReplyDelete

Site search