Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Monday, August 9, 2010

Xià Hóu Dūn 夏侯惇

Posted by Ricky Chua On 9:51 PM 37 comments
Translated description:
"One-eyed Demon 独眼的罗刹 (dú yǎn dè luó chà)"

Wikipedia link: Xia Hou Dun Wiki

Who is he:
Best remembered for the scene where he lost his eye, Xia Hou Dun is a ferocious combat general with balls of steel and fiery determination. He is one of Cao Cao 曹操's most loyal generals and is supposedly a distant relative. The story goes that Xia Hou Dun was caught in an ambush and suffered an arrow to his eye. His troops were panic-stricken, thinking that their general had fallen. But then Xia Hou Dun grabbed the arrow and yanked it out of his head, pulling with it his eyeball skewered on the arrow shaft. With one gulp he swallows his own eyeball, then charges right back at the assailant. Needless to say, the assailant died a horrible death when Xia Hou Dun got to him. His act of swallowing his eye-ball rallied his troops' morale and scared the shit out of his enemies. Henceforth, the name of Xia Hou Dun has become synonymous with bravery and gung-ho.

Character ability: "An Eye for an Eye 刚烈 (gāng liè)"
Every instance you suffer damage, you can flip a judgement card. If the judgement is not the suit of "hearts", the source player that caused the damage can choose 1 of 2 options.

Option 1: Lose 1 unit of health

Option 2: Discard any 2 on-hand cards 

Ability's relation to story:
I could not help but use a pun to translate 刚烈 as "an eye for an eye". The most straightforward link to the story is where Xia Hou Dun impales Cao Xing 曹性 for firing the arrow that wasted his eye. It is said that Xia Hou Dun impaled Cao Xing's face before trampling his body beneath his horse. In the cardgame, this ability is a very effective deterrent to opponents. A wonderful psychological link to the story in terms of the effect Xia Hou Dun has on his enemies.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Losing his bloody eye!

2. Cause of death - In the historical account, Xia Hou Dun dies of an illness at an age of approximately 50 - 60 years old. But this defers from the Romance of Three Kingdoms story which dramatized his death as being caused by an encounter with Guan Yu 关羽's ghost. In the olden days, illnesses were very much attributed to supernatural reasons, thus it is not too far-fetched for readers to believe (especially in the 1300's when the story was written).

FAQ and Disambiguation


1. If Xiao Qiao were to attack Xia Hou Dun and he loses health, then he judgement card for ''An eye for an Eye'' is spades, will Xiao Qiao's ability change the spades to hearts?

Ans: No, it will still be spades.This is because the judgement is done by Xia Hou Dun. It is HIS judgement and not Xiao Qiao's so Xiao Qiao's ability does not apply.


2. If Xiao Hou Dun's victim of his ability does not have cards on his hand, can he elect to discard from his hands and thus, nothing happens?

Ans: No he cannot.He will have no choice but to suffer damage.


3. Can the victim of  An Eye for an Eye discard equipped cards?

Ans: No. The victim can only discard on-hand cards,not equipped cards.

37 comments:

  1. If xiao qiao attacks xia hou dun, and he loses health and if xia hou dun's judgement card is a spade, does his effect still work on xiao qiao with her "spades" "hearts" ability?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes it does work on Xiao Qiao. The reason is the judgement is done by Xia Hou Dun. It is HIS judgement and not Xiao Qiao's, so Xiao Qiao's ability does not apply.

    Same applies to Guo Jia when Xiao Qiao attacks him.

    ReplyDelete
  3. can a player elect to discard cards from his hand even if he doesn't have cards in his hand or only has 1 card?

    ReplyDelete
  4. No he cannot. It that situation, he has no choice but to suffer damage.

    ReplyDelete
  5. "the source player that caused the damage can just between 1 of 2 options."

    Just to alert you to your typo here, "just" should be choose. In fact, the whole sentence should read "can choose 1 of 2 options" (between should not be inside because 'between 1' does not make sense, only 'choose between 2 options' works).

    Sorry to nitpick, haha.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for highlighting the typo! I'll make the changes. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. any cards including currently equipped?

    ReplyDelete
  8. No. The victim can only discard on-hand cards, not equipped cards.

    ReplyDelete
  9. If Xia Hou Dun were to attack Xiao Qiao, and Xiao Qiao deflect the damage back to Xia Hou Dun. Would the damage be considered from Xia Hou Dun himslef or Xiao Qiao? Thus can he activate 刚烈 on Xiao Qiao?

    ReplyDelete
  10. The source of the damage doesn't change, so it will still be from Xiahou Dun. Thus, he can't activate gang lie on Xiao Qiao.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Can Xiahou Dun use his ability even when his last drop of blood has been taken?

    ReplyDelete
  12. He needs to be rescued first (priority) before he can use his ability.

    ReplyDelete
  13. What if Xiahou Dun is "chained" to another general and that general suffer injury due to a Fire or lighting Attack by a 3rd party, and since Xiahou Dun suffer collateral injury as well, does that 3rd party need to undertake Xiahou Dun's An Eye for an Eye 刚烈 (gāng liè)"??

    ReplyDelete
  14. ^ Yes. Beacause the source of damage is the 3rd party. To add with, if someone (who is not Meng Huo) use BARBARIANS to damage Xiahou Dun while Meng Huo is present and alive, it is Meng Huo to be the target of 'an Eye for an Eye', because Meng Huo has the enforced ability 'the Smoking Gun'.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I do not have Meng Huo in my Deck yet. So does that mean that if someone who cast either "BarBarians" or "Rainning Arrow" or "lighting" spell and injured XiaHou Dun can undertake "An Eye for an Eye"?

    ReplyDelete
  16. ^ No. He is the damage source of all BARBARIANS, as stated in his ability, 'the Smoking Gun'. All in all, he is the king of barbarians...

    ReplyDelete
  17. If xiahou dun duels someone and loses, can he also activate "gang lie" on the opponent?

    If this is the case, it makes duel a very good card for Xiahou Dun

    ReplyDelete
  18. To Kaufebeen,

    Yes, he can activate his ability when another person hurts him in a duel.

    ReplyDelete
  19. "I do not have Meng Huo in my Deck yet. So does that mean that if someone who cast either "BarBarians" or "Rainning Arrow" or "lighting" spell and injured XiaHou Dun can undertake "An Eye for an Eye"?"

    "^ No. He is the damage source of all BARBARIANS, as stated in his ability, 'the Smoking Gun'. All in all, he is the king of barbarians..."

    Ok, I don't quite understand the exchange going on here, but does "I do not have Meng Huo in my Deck yet" mean Meng Huo is not in play? If so, then the player who played BARBARIANS or ARROWS will trigger XHD's Eye for an Eye. LIGHTNING does not trigger it as there is no source for LIGHTNING (unless you believe in God).

    ReplyDelete
  20. ^ but wouldn't the player who played down Lightning be the source and so be affected?

    ReplyDelete
  21. No, LIGHTNING never has a source. So if it kills a player, there are no rewards or penalties.

    The source of this ruling is taken directly from the rulebook.

    ReplyDelete
  22. is there any storyline connection between XHD and the frost blade?

    ReplyDelete
  23. No, there is no story about the frost blade, I think it is just a weapon created by yoka

    ReplyDelete
  24. If Lu Xun attacks him, can he chhose to discards two cards even though he has one from his ability?

    ReplyDelete
  25. Lu Xun needs 2 cards on hand at the same time to be able to discard them.

    ReplyDelete
  26. Not that this happens very often, but it is still possible. They way you have it stated is "every time Xia Hou Dun suffers damage...". This would imply even if he is struck by lightning he may perform his judgment, but it would just not be effective towards anyone. Or if Zhang Chun Hua attacks him. The concern is he suffers damage, but can he flip a judgment card to waste a card from the top of the deck ? This may be useful if someone like elder Zhu Ge Liang is before him and sets up his cards.

    ReplyDelete
  27. ^Zhang Chun Hua is loss of life, not damage. His ability doesnt even trigger

    ReplyDelete
  28. I agree the effect does not kick in if Zhang Chun Hua is the one attacking(or causing damage). It seems to me there are two distinct ways to loss health. They would be 伤害 (suffering damage) or 体力流失 (loss of health). Damaged suffered by a lightning strike may have no source but it is still 伤害 (read the card). This implies to me that CaoCao for example can take the lightning if he survives because his ability is activated when he suffers 伤害. Also Xia Hou Dun's ability is activated by 伤害. This would imply he can flip a judgment although there is no source. Does this make sense ?

    A specific example of a time you would want to do this is when elder zhugeliang is directly before Xia Hou Dun. If the elder has a LIGHTNING on him and Xia Hou Dun has a ACEDIA. During ZhuGe Liang's turn he can change the top 5 cards. the 1st one so he doesn't get struck. Cards 2 and 3 for himself. the 4th card a 2-9 spade so when the lightning is passed on, Xia Hou Dun gets struck and the 5th card a Heart so if Xia Hou Dun survives the lightning strike he doesn't get a turn. I have seen this situation happen before except it wasn't that Xia Hou Dun that was following the elder.

    ReplyDelete
  29. No, Xia Hou Dun cannot flip a card. There is no source player. The damage done by the lightning is from the sky. And the sky is not a player, therefore he cannot activate his ability.

    ReplyDelete
  30. what I think is that, they might have to revise some of the wordings in character's abilities, because sometimes it would get confusing.
    Lets just look at the skill...it says...whenever Xia Hou Dun gets damaged, he can go trough the judgement thing..and flip a card.
    So if Xia Hou Dun gets damaged by Lighting, he is receive damage, and so he can then flip a judgement card, the judgement card is cast on himself, not the lighting, so Xia Hou Dun can do that, but the thing is Lighting is not a player, as people are saying, so it doesn't do anything. But what I think is no matter what, Xia Hou Dun can activate his ability because it all boils down to: He received damage.

    ReplyDelete
  31. ^what I mean by it doesn't do anything is that, Xia Hou Dun's ability would not have any effect on Lighting itself

    ReplyDelete
  32. Yes. This is also what i would agree on. Also this is why i asked the question in the first place. My understanding was exactly the same as how you phrased it. The condition to activate the ability is when he receives the damage. The activation of the ability has nothing to do with whether or not there is a source. But the effects after judgement get targeted to a source. In the case of lightning nothing simply happens.

    I have seen online a situation where the elder zhuge liang set up failure for lightning and an acedia for when the next person survived lightning. Then i thought, what if that person was Xia Hou Dun, could he waste the top card by his ability ?

    Thank you for taking time to actually read the ability instead of assuming.

    ReplyDelete
  33. yeah no problem, but I would like to stress out that, this is what I would interpret from the card's descriptions, but the officials should make a better version for explaining the character's skill. And I believe they do have a newer version.

    ReplyDelete
  34. If sima yi damage xia hou dun and did not pass the judgement therefore losing a health, can sima yi takes a card from xia hou dun?

    ReplyDelete
  35. In case Demi-God Zhu Ge Liang use "Heavy Shroud" on him and hit Xia Hou Dun, the judgement card is not "heart", will Zhu Ge Liang lost a health if he refused discard 2 cards?

    ReplyDelete
  36. The following is purely from my own experience:

    I'm basing this purely on the online game mechanics, but it seems the game developers did not intend for XHD to be able to flip a card if damaged from a non-source [e.g. Lightning].

    Based on the card readings, DG Zhuge Liang will indeed not receive damage.

    ReplyDelete

Site search