Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Monday, August 9, 2010

Xià Hóu Yuān 夏侯渊

Posted by Ricky Chua On 9:57 PM 31 comments
Translated description:
"Lightning-fast Cheetah 疾行的猎豹 (jí xíng dè liè bào)"

Wikipedia link: Xia Hou Yuan Wiki
Who is he:
Perhaps less famous than his cousin Xia Hou Dun 夏侯惇 but a one of the pillars of Cao Cao 曹操's army, Xia Hou Yuan was highly praised for his efficiency in logistics. He has been credited as one of the main reasons Cao Cao rebounded from his defeat at the battle of Red Cliffs 赤壁之战 so quickly, thanks to his reliable and prompt logistics handling. In the battlefield, Xia Hou Yuan earned his nickname "Cheetah of the West 西部猎豹" for his lightning fast capture of the cities on the western border of the Wei Kingdom 魏国. Unfortunately, many of these details would have been left out if you had read the simplified version of Romance of Three Kingdoms. The big highlight of Xia Hou Yuan was his death at Han Zhong 汉中 under the hands of Huang Zhong 黄忠.

Character ability: "Godspeed 神速 (shén sù)"
You can use either or both of the following options listed below. When any of the options below are activated, it is equivalent to using an ATTACK 杀 card on any player (no distance limitations).

1. Skip your judgement phase as well as drawing phase.

2. Skip your action phase as well as discard one equipment card.

(This means he can no longer use any other card in his turn. Note that this option can only be used once a turn, regardless of how many equipment cards you have.)

Note: Using this ability does NOT count as having used an ATTACK card. Which means to say if Godspeed option 1 is used, the player can continue to use an ATTACK card during the action phase. Both the options can be used consecutively in one turn, thus skipping judgement, drawing and action phase whilst being able to ATTACK twice.

Ability's relation to story:
Xia Hou Yuan was known for his speed in moving his troops and catching his opponents off-guard. In his effort to capture the city of Chang Li 长离, Xia Hou Yuan discarded most of his supplies so as to be able to achieve surprise. This is probably the link behind "Godspeed" option 2 ability. In general, Xia Hou Yuan in the cardgame does bring an element of speed since he can choose to ATTACK immediately even before drawing cards. Though this speed is of no consequence whatsoever in terms of dealing damage, it does make him a very useful character since he will always be able to use ATTACK on any player at least once a turn.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - In his attack on Song Jian 宋健, Xia Hou Yuan was able to capture the city within two months, a very short timespan in those days. Song Jian and all his officers were massacred by Xia Hou Yuan, which ultimately scared the balls off the other opponents in the nearby region. Within a year, most of these opponents surrendered to Cao Wei 曹魏 out of fear of Xia Hou Yuan.

2. Cause of death - The tragedy of Xia Hou Yuan is the glory of Huang Zhong from Shu Han 蜀汉. The story goes that Huang Zhong set his troops up a hill overlooking Xia Hou Yuan's camp at Han Zhong 汉中. Xia Hou Yuan got upset that his camp was being spied on and rallied an attack on Huang Zhong. Huang Zhong held firm till Xia Hou Yuan's troops became weary from fighting uphill, then led a massive counter-attack downhill. Huang Zhong himself cut Xia Hou Yuan into two.

FAQ and Disambiguation

1. Does the equipped card have to be equipped to use the 2nd option?

Ans: No it does'nt. It can be any equipped card , on-hand or equipped.


2. Does the lightning card goes to the next person if Xia Hou Yuan uses his abilty to skip judgement phase?

Ans: No, the LIGHTNING stays with him till he finally decides to pass judgement on it.


3. When he uses his abilty,does the Attack go through Rattan Armor?

Ans: No. This is because it has no elemental attribute .


4. With his ability,does this mean Xia Hou Yuan can use 2 ATTACKS per turn?

Ans: Xia Hou Yuan's ability allows him to use two attacks ONLY if both are used through the skill.


5. Is it possible for Xia Hou Dun to attack then use his ability to end his action phase with an attack towards an opponent?

Ans: No, that is not possible. For him to use his ability (2nd part) to attack , he needs to skip his action phase altogether, thus he cannot take any actions in that turn.


6. Does skipping Xia Hou Dun's draw and judgement phase count as an attack? Meaning that he cannot attack during his action phase?

Ans: The ability is divided into Godspeed 1 and Godspeed 2

Godspeed 1: skip judgement + drawing phase. After using this, the player can continue to use cards , including ATTACK cards. Which means to say this player can attack more than once in that turn , with Godspeed 1 being the extra bonus attack.

Godspeed 2:  skip action phase+ discard 1 equipment . In this case ,the player can no longer use any card for that turn, thus the player cannot use ATTACK cards.


7. Can Xia Hou Dun use ''Godspeed 2'' and avoid the consequence of acedia if he is already failed judgement for acedia?

No he cannot. Once you succumb to ACEDIA , your action phas is already skipped. You cannot further choose to skip the action phase by using Godspeed 2

31 comments:

  1. when is the Wu characters going to be post? cant wait S2

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the comment. Since i'm a one-man-show, i usually manage about 2 characters a day. Wu characters would probably get started this weekend.

    ReplyDelete
  3. haha mr anonymous, please give him sometime... he is working hard... lol

    ReplyDelete
  4. Does the equipment card have to be equipped to use the 2nd option?

    ReplyDelete
  5. No it doesn't. It can be any equipment card, on-hand or equipped.

    ReplyDelete
  6. If he currently has a Lightning in front of him, and he uses his ability to skip his judgement phase, does the lightning go to the next person? Or if he had Acedia on him, does it go to the discard pile?

    ReplyDelete
  7. No the LIGHTNING stays with him till he finally decides to pass judgement on it. Same with ACEDIA.

    This means that Lightning can effectively stay stagnant with Xia Hou Yuan as long as he keeps using his ability to skip the judgement phase. Good for a loyalist to save a dying ruler!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. When he uses his first skill, does it goes through Rattan Armour 藤甲?

    ReplyDelete
  9. Isn't a player limited to using only 1 ATTACK per turn?

    ReplyDelete
  10. @Tim - I'm not entirely 100% sure, but I'm going to say that it does NOT go through Rattan Armour because the card states that using the abilities is equivalent to a basic attack card.

    @Princemousey - Yes a player is limited to using only 1 ATTACK per turn but Xiahou Yuan's ability allows him to essentially use two. Definitely useful for trying to finish someone off!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Tim: His skill has been classified as "Suitless" and "Elementless". This means it is effective against Ren Wang Shield, but not effective against Rattan Armor.

    Princemousey: This ability is unique to Xia Hou Yuan. It allows him to use 2 attacks ONLY IF both are used through the skill.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Is it possible for him to attack then use his ability to end his action phase with an attack towards an opponent. This means that it is possible to attack 3 times right?

    ReplyDelete
  13. No that is not possible. For him to use his ability (2nd part) to attack, he needs to skip his action phase altogether, thus he cannot take any actions in that turn.

    ReplyDelete
  14. if he skips his draw and judgement phase, does that count as an attack? Meaning that he cannot attack during his action phase?

    ReplyDelete
  15. The ability is divided into Godspeed 1 and Godspeed 2.

    Godspeed 1 = skip judgement + drawing phase. After using this, the player can continue to use cards, including ATTACK cards. Which means to say this player can attack more than once in that turn, with Godspeed 1 being the extra bonus attack.

    Godspeed 2 = skip action phase + discard 1 equipment. In this case the player can no longer use any card for that turn, thus the player cannot use ATTACK cards.

    In short, Godspeed ability does NOT count as having used an ATTACK. The original post has been edited to minimise ambiguity.

    ReplyDelete
  16. The card description only indicates that Xiahou Yuan's ability is equivalent to using a Kill card. It does not say that this is excluded from the 1 Kill card rule. You got this understanding from the official website?

    ReplyDelete
  17. Yes. Linked below. Though its a forum reply, the consensus has been clear.

    http://forum.yokagames.com/viewthread.php?tid=16440

    ReplyDelete
  18. If he is judged for acedia and must skip his turn, can he use godspeed 2 and avoid the consequence of acedia?

    ReplyDelete
  19. If he is judged for acedia and must skip his turn, can he use godspeed 2 and avoid the consequence of acedia?

    >>ANS: No he cannot. This is strongly debated but the logic is sound. Once you succumb to ACEDIA, your action phase is already skipped. You cannot further choose to skip the action phase by using Godspeed2.

    REF: http://www.yokagames.com/?action-viewthread-tid-13472

    ReplyDelete
  20. If Xia Hou Yuan discards (be it on hand or equipped) an equipment card which is a clubs to activate Godspeed 2, can Cao Zhi obtain the card?

    ReplyDelete
  21. Yes. There 3 distinct ways to utilize a card are "play"打出, "use"使用 or "discard"弃. This ability states use must "discard"弃 the card, while Cao Zhi's ability states that any card that is "discarded" 弃 can be obtained. So yes Cai Zhi can take the card.

    ReplyDelete
  22. If I use godspeed, and also equipped with the "fan" weapon, does it mean that the attack from "godspeed" is a fire attack?

    ReplyDelete
  23. If Xia Hou Yuan decide to skip his jugement phase for Acedia, can he use Godspeed2?

    ReplyDelete
  24. Yes, provided if you have an equipment card to discard.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Isn't this guy really weak?

    ReplyDelete
  26. Not really. He can attack very far if a lot people plays which made him long range attacker. Moreover, he can attack twice in a turn.

    ReplyDelete
  27. He's not terribly good either. IMO, Tai Shi Ci is overall much better (and can attack twice per turn / 4 targets with no range limitations provided he has enough cards).

    ReplyDelete
  28. I feel xiahouyuan is one of the lamest, but for some reason I love the character.
    If there are girl enemies around, he is really good with the double gender swords. He use first ability - Godspeed 1, infinite range, gets a card, or they lose a card, then use Godspeed 2, provided you have the equipment, and use the gender sword's ability again! So all in all, he could make the opponent lose two cards, while be attacked, attack twice AND get 2 cards(equivalent to drawing 2) or something in the middle of those two options.

    ReplyDelete
  29. Yeah I have to agree AppleCrisp, I love the character too. Many people don't think he's terribly strong but he has his uses. If you're a Rebel that is seated far from the Ruler, his ability can do wonders in terms of DPS. Personally I like to activate his ability only when I can use both options at once, I think that allows for the most effect in games since it'll burn more dodges the Ruler has (or doesn't have) in one round.

    ReplyDelete

Site search