Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Game Rules Part 7: Reincarnation 转世

Posted by Ricky Chua On 11:50 PM 10 comments
Welcome to Part 7!

In this section, i'm going to talk about one of my favorite auxiliary rules known as the Reincarnation Rule. Simply put, it allows a player to remain in the game despite being killed and after his or her role card has been exposed.



The original logic of this rule was to minimize the amount of waiting time for the dead players before the next round starts, especially when there are more than 7 players in the round. Quite considerate, no?

(By the way, this rule is auxiliary, meaning its not compulsory. In fact it's rarely used, but heck of a lot of fun. Strong recommend that you test this out the next time you play!)

So, let's begin!




Step 1: Prerequisite

The official prerequisite for this rule to activate is:

"8 or more players at the start of the round."

That's a little steep cause it's not often that you find 7 other friends as bored/crazy about SGS as you are. Unofficially, you can activate this rule even if you have only 5 players starting, so i'm not going to elaborate further.

"All the previous cards (both on-hand and equipped) must be discarded before reincarnation can take place." (Should be easily understood, yes?)


Step 2: Offerings to the Dead

All players can choose to help "reincarnate" a dead player simply by giving the dead player an "offering". The "offering" is one on-hand card from a living player to a dead player. Only one offering is allowed per player per turn.

Of course, when you are the living player, you can choose which dead player to give to if there are more than 1, or you can choose not to give any at all.

Once a dead player accumulates 4 offering cards, the dead player is reincarnated (or resurrected) immediately.


Step 3: Reincarnation

A reincarnated player will have only 1 unit of health to begin with. He or she need not hide the role card since it has already been exposed.


Step 4: New Character

The reincarnated player must not use the same character previously used. Place the previous character aside. Do not mix it back into the deck of unused character cards yet.

Now shuffle the deck of unused character cards and place the deck face down on the table. The reincarnated player will flip from the top card onwards until a character appears with the same allegiance as his previous character. Eg: if he was using GuanYu 关羽, flip till the first Shu Character appears.

This first card with the same allegiance as the previous will be the reincarnated player's new character!


Step 5: Resume Game Play

Once the new character has been selected, the reincarnated player is considered part of the game immediately! He or she will use the 4 offering cards as on-hand cards. Thus the fun continues!!


[IMPT!] Effect of Exposed Role of Reincarnated Players

For the purpose of winning the game, the role of the reincarnated players is considered DEAD.

Eg: There are total of 3 Rebels 反贼 in the game. One of them has already died and is now reincarnated, but the number of Rebels left in the game is considered 2. This means that once the other 2 "living" Rebels are killed, the Rebels lose even if the reincarnated player is still alive.

As such, there are also no rewards and penalties for killing a reincarnated player!


FAQ

1. If a reincarnated player dies again, but still has 3 of the offering cards still on-hand, can he reincarnate with only 1 more offering card?

Ans: No. Once he dies, he must discard all his cards as per normal. He will need to accumulate 4 offering cards again from scratch.


2. How many times can a player reincarnate?

Ans: An unlimited number of times.


3. How many players can be reincarnated at the same time?

Ans: No limit!


4. Can I give more than 1 card to a dead player during my turn?

Ans: No. Every player can only give a maximum of 1 card per turn.


5. If a reincarnated player kills a "living" Rebel, is he entitled to the 3 cards reward?

Ans: Yes. He is treated like any normal player and can receive all awards and penalties. The only difference is his role is considered "dead".



Well, that's all I can think of for now! I hope you enjoyed reading this and that you will test this out soon in your own game time.

Have fun and 杀!


Click here to go to Part 8: Official Points-scoring

10 comments:

  1. Is this rule an official rule made by the gaming company? or is it a rule made by some random person?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Also, can the living players use dismantle the dead player's cards? And can the living player give one offering to each dead player?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Is this rule an official rule made by the gaming company? or is it a rule made by some random person?

    >>ANS: Yes it is an official rule. This is stated in the game manual.


    can the living players use dismantle the dead player's cards? And can the living player give one offering to each dead player?
    >>ANS: The "offering" cards cannot be dismantled. The living player can only give 1 offering card in total per turn.

    ReplyDelete
  4. So if you kill a reincarnated rebel you DON'T get to draw 3 cards? And if you're a reincarnated Loyalist, and the Ruler kills him, the ruler DOESN'T lose all his cards?

    ReplyDelete
  5. What if there's a living rebel and a reincarnated rebel left in play. If the living rebel dies, does the reincarnated rebel die immediately? Or he stays alive (which really is pointless since his team lost already)

    ReplyDelete
  6. So if you kill a reincarnated rebel you DON'T get to draw 3 cards? And if you're a reincarnated Loyalist, and the Ruler kills him, the ruler DOESN'T lose all his cards?

    >>ANS: Yes that's right!


    What if there's a living rebel and a reincarnated rebel left in play. If the living rebel dies, does the reincarnated rebel die immediately? Or he stays alive (which really is pointless since his team lost already)

    >>ANS: As a Rebel, your team does not lose even though all the Rebels are dead. The reason is because as long as the Ruler dies and the Defector is not the last man standing, it is STILL considered as a Rebel win!

    Therefore in the scenario you described, the reincarnated rebel must do his best to kill the Ruler before the Defector achieves his goal.

    ReplyDelete
  7. A player can give the offering card at any time during his turn? So Lu Xun could give his last on hand card, draw another, and then continue his turn?

    ReplyDelete
  8. What phase is the offering card required to be given in ("action phase", "drawing phase", "discard phase", etc...)? Or, is it simply that it can be given at ANY time/phase during a player's turn?

    ReplyDelete
  9. I assume for Zhu Ge Liang's ability "Star Gazing" and "Harvest Grace" you will count ALL of the players (including the reincarnated ones)?

    ReplyDelete

Site search