Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Sunday, September 5, 2010

Jiǎ Xǔ 贾诩

Posted by Ricky Chua On 5:23 PM 54 comments
Translated description:
"Cold-blooded Advocate for Murder 冷酷的毒士 (lěng kù dè dú shì)"

Wikipedia link: Jia Xu Wiki

Who is he:
His description portrays him as a mass-murderer, and history seems to back that up. After the death of Dong Zhuo 董卓, Jia Xu adviced Li Jue 李催 to take advantage of the chaos in Chang An 长安 and grab the Imperial power for himself. This would prove to be the biggest black mark on Jia Xu's life as Li Jue and Guo Si 郭汜 went on a rampage in Chang An, killing and abducting innocent civilians, burning and robbing property. Later historians place the blame squarely on Jia Xu for the holocaust. The fact is Jia Xu is an incredibly gifted advisor whose predictions have come true many times. The sad thing is his leaders did not always listen to him! While serving under Cao Cao 曹操, Jia Xu was one of the rare few who did not support the attack on Sun Wu 孙吴. Not heeding this advice, Cao Cao later met with disaster at Red Cliffs 赤壁之战. Years later while serving under Cao Pi 曹丕, Jia Xu again advised a defensive strategy instead of supporting Cao Pi's attack on either Sun Wu or Shu Han 蜀汉. Once again, his advise proved to be correct as Cao Pi was not victorious.

Character ability 1: [Enforced ability] "Unmitigated Murder 完杀 (wán shā)"
During your turn, with the exception of yourself, only characters who are on the brink of death (health equals zero or less) can use PEACH 桃.

Character ability 2: [Single-Use Ability] "Descend into Chaos 乱武 (luàn wǔ)"
During your action phase, you can force every player, other than yourself, to use an ATTACK 杀 on another player at the least distance away. If a player is unable to do so (no ATTACK cards to use or attack range cannot reach any player), the player will lose 1 unit of health. Recipients of the ATTACK need to use DODGE 闪 to evade. This ability will proceed in succession starting from the player on your right.

Character ability 3: [Enforced ability] "Behind the Curtain 帷幕 (wéi mù)"
You cannot become the target of tool cards with the suit of "clubs" or "spades".

Ability's relation to story:
No direct link is made to "Unmitigated Murder", though it can be inferred that the game makers want to add drama to this "cold-blooded murderer". "Descend into Chaos" is referring to the massacre at Chang An carried out by Li Jue and Guo Si.

"Behind the Curtain" is interesting. Jia Xu happens to be the longest-living advisor in the Three Kingdoms Era, and the reason for this is rather unglamorous. He is remembered as someone who will save his own ass before the higher purpose. Numerous times he has switched allegiance as his leaders started to fail, finally ending up at Cao Wei 曹魏 till his death. Even then, Jia Xu stayed away from expressing emotions that would compromise his true thoughts. In his later years he became a recluse, and did not even speak in private to anyone else. The "Curtain" in this case is his silence and evasive character, making him less susceptible to ploys and schemes. Thus the ability is apt for him since it makes him impervious to a large number of tool cards.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Advising Li Jue to Guo Si to take the empire for themselves. Eventually Lu Jue and Guo Si tore each other apart and Jia Xu prudently distanced himself from them.

2. Cause of death - Jia Xu died of old-age at the age of 77 years old. Not bad for a public enemy, don't you think?


FAQ and Disambiguation

1. For ability 1, does this mean if Jia Xu attack the RULER who begins with 1 life and drops to 0 , only the RULER can use PEACH to save himself , and that nobody else can use PEACH to save the RULER?

Ans: Yes only the RULER can save himself. It does not even have to be damage caused by Jia Xu . For example , if Jia Xu was a Loyalist and he attacks Zhang Jiao, but Zhang Jiao uses his Lightning strike ability to strike the ruler, whose health reduces to zero , nobody else except Jia Xu can use PEACH to save him. So this can be potentially disastrous if the consequences are not properly thought through.


2. For Ability 2, Jia Xu  is 1 distance away from Player A, and Player B is 1 distance away to the right of Player A . If Jia Xu forces Player A to attack , and both Jia Xu and Player B are equidistant from Player A , who gets to choose who gets hit?

Ans:  The player who is executing the ATTACK gets to choose , which means there is a chance that Jia Xu himself  will be the target of ATTACK from the 2 players on his left and right .


3. For Ability 3, what happens if a club Lightning passes through him ? Would it immediately move from the player to his left to the player to his right? Or would it be discarded as soon as the player on his left was done with it?

Ans: Assuming the direction of play is anti-clockwise , once the Lightning moves into Jia Xu's zone from the player to his left,it immediately skips him and move to the player on his right. The rules for removing Lightning from  play applies : only Dismantle ,Steal, or the Lightning strikes someone will the card be removed from the play area.


4. How often can single-use abilities be used?

Ans: It can only be used once PER GAME.


5. Can Jia Xu's tool card be Negated by other player?

Ans: Black negate do have an effect on Jia Xu's tool card. This is because the negate is use on the tool card and not on Jia Xu himself.


6. Do barbarian cards has an effect on Jia Xu?

Ans: Both barbarian cards are black, therefore they have no effect on Jia Xu.


7. Can a Dismantle target Jia Xu's horse and equipment count as targeting Jia Xu?

Ans: Using Dismantle on his equipment still counts as targeting Jia Xu( Since these belongs to him)


8. Can Yu Ji use his ''Bewilder '' skill to play ''colourless'' Barbarian to attack Jia Xu?

Ans: Yes, Yu Ji cards when played faced down are all suitless and colorless .They will work on Jia Xu


9. When Xiao Qiao uses Barbarian that is spade suit, will it be regarded as a Heart Barbarians by everyone including Jia Xu?

Ans: yes all of Xiao Qiao's ''spades'' cards are viewed as ''hearts'' .So even though she uses a spade Barbarian ,it will be regarded as a Heart' Barbarian by everyone .Therefore it will work on Jia Xu.


10. If the second ability activates and someone gets hurt because he could'nt attack anyone(no attack or no range) does Jia Xu gets the rewards and punishment for causing that damage?

Ans: For 2nd ability (Descend into Chaos 乱武) if a player dies because he is unable to use Attack, nobody gets to draw any rewards or punishment.
Note: If a player dies during this ability because he is a victim of another player's attack , the player that use the Attack becomes the source and  gets all the rewards/ punishment accordingly.


11. During ''Descend into Chaos 乱武' ability, does the player being attacked need to use dodge or suffer yet another damage?

Ans: Yes . The player being attacked needs to use Dodge or suffer damage.


12. Can Da Qiao deflect the attack skills for Jia Xu's Ability 2?

Ans: Yes, Da Qiao can use her ability normally.

54 comments:

  1. Great blog, and I hope my questions will initiate some healthy dialogue on these increasingly-complicated cards:
    For Ability 1, does this mean if Jia Xu attacks the RULER who begins with 1 life and then drops to 0, only the RULER can use PEACH to save himself, and that nobody else can use PEACH to save the RULER?
    For Ability 2, Jia Xu is 1 distance away from Player A, and Player B is 1 distance away to the right of Player A. If Jia Xu forces Player A to attack, and both Jia Xu AND Player B are equidistant from Player A, who gets to choose who gets hit?
    For Ability 3, what happens if a clubs Lightning passes through to him? Would it immediately move from the player to his left to the player to his right? Or would it be discarded as soon as the player on his left was done with it?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Dave, thanks for the questions.

    Ability 1: Yes only the RULER can save himself. It does not even have to be damage caused by Jia Xu. For example, if Jia Xu was a Loyalist and he attacks Zhang Jiao, but Zhang Jiao uses his lightning strike ability to strike the ruler, whose health reduces to zero, nobody else except Jia Xu can use PEACH to save him. So this can be potentially disastrous if the consequences are not properly thought through.

    Ability 2: The Player who is executing the ATTACK gets to choose. Which means there is a chance that Jia Xu himself will be the target of ATTACK from the 2 players on his left and right.

    Ability 3: Assuming the direction of play is anti-clockwise, once the lightning moves into Jia Xu's zone from the player to his left, it immediately skips him and moves to the player on his right. The rules for removing Lightning from play applies; only Dismantle, Steal or the lightning strikes someone will the card be removed from the play area.

    ReplyDelete
  3. So I'm assuming by tool cards, this includes even time-delay tool cards? As in Rations Depleted and Acedia (these might be all red, I don't remember).

    If it does this would make him incredibly powerful!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes including time delay tool cards such as Lightning and Rations Depleted with black suits. There are only 2 timedelay tool cards in the entire deck that isn't black: 1 lightning card and 1 acedia card.

    ReplyDelete
  5. So if Jia Xu going to kill you
    only yourself , Jia Xu mercy, and should be dead Zhou Tai(with 0/negative health) can save you
    ^-^

    -jagon-

    ReplyDelete
  6. is his second ability (as of with every other single-use abilities) only once per game ? or once per turn ?

    ReplyDelete
  7. Single-use abilities can only be used once PER GAME.

    ReplyDelete
  8. can his tool cards be Negated by other players ? Only 1 negate card is red in the base set, rest are spade/club

    ReplyDelete
  9. It seems that black negate do have an effect. This is because the negate card is used on the tool card, and not on Jia Xu himself.

    ReplyDelete
  10. how about barbarians ? do they have an effect ?

    ReplyDelete
  11. both barbarians cards are black, therefore they have no effect on JiaXu.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Can a Dismantle target Jia Xu's horse and equipment? Does it count as targeting Jia Xu?

    ReplyDelete
  13. Using Dismantle on his equipment still counts as targeting Jia Xu (since these belong to him).

    ReplyDelete
  14. Yu Ji can use his Bewilder skill to play a "colourless" Barbarians to attack Jia Xu.

    ReplyDelete
  15. And also... Xiao Qiao plays "spade" Barbarians as a "heart" Barbarians and attack Jia Xu.

    ReplyDelete
  16. "Yu Ji can use his Bewilder skill to play a "colourless" Barbarians to attack Jia Xu."

    >> Agreed. Yu Ji's cards played faced-down are all suitless and colourless. They will work on Jia Xu.


    "And also... Xiao Qiao plays "spade" Barbarians as a "heart" Barbarians and attack Jia Xu."

    >> Agreed. All of Xiao Qiao's "spades" cards are viewed as "hearts", so even though she uses a spade Barbarians, it will be regarded as a Heart Barbarians by everyone.

    ReplyDelete
  17. if the second ability activates and a someone get's hurt because he couldn't attack anyone (no attack or no range) does jia xu get the rewards and punishment for causing that damage? (an eye for and eye, or 3 cards for killing a rebel)

    ReplyDelete
  18. For 2nd ability (Descend into Chaos 乱武) if a player dies because unable to use Attack, NOBODY gets to draw any reward or punishment.

    Note: If a player dies during this ability because he is victim of another player's Attack, the player that used the attack becomes the source and gets all reward/punishment accordingly.

    ReplyDelete
  19. does the player being attacked need to use a dodge or suffer yet another damage?

    ReplyDelete
  20. Are you referring to during "Descend into Chaos" ability? If you are, the answer is YES, the player being attacked needs to use Dodge or suffer damage.

    ReplyDelete
  21. For jia xu's ability 2, can da qiao deflect the attack still?

    and are you sure that Jia Xu doesn't get the reward/punishment for the players not being able to produce an "attack"? Since jia xu's only able to use this ability once in the game, it would make sense that he does get the rewards/punishments.

    ReplyDelete
  22. 1. Yes, Da Qiao can use her ability normally.

    2. The ability states that the player who is unable to do so loses 1 health. It doesn't mention any source of the damage, so no one gets the kill.

    ReplyDelete
  23. So if Yu Ji's "Bluff" ability takes place, and somebody received damage and thus killed him for not believing, does Yu Ji get the kill? (Online version he does)

    ReplyDelete
  24. This isn't the right page to be discussing Yu Ji, but from the FAQs Yu Ji does NOT get the kill.

    Could you please verify that he gets the kill for online version??

    ReplyDelete
  25. no he does not get the kill in the online version =)

    ReplyDelete
  26. Can Jia Xu play a black LIGHTNING? If so, does it immediately jump to the next player?

    ReplyDelete
  27. Actually, I think he can't target himself with the Lightning.

    ReplyDelete
  28. ^ Lightning isn't even considered a tool card.
    Also Jia Xu's ability is quite OP IMHO. Especially the immunity to half the tool cards one.

    ReplyDelete
  29. Isn't lightning a time-delay tool card?

    ReplyDelete
  30. For his Descend into Chaos what if both his neighbors have +1 Horse and the player attacking has a weapon can he still reach? Because it says to attack the nearest player thus limiting the range to one.

    ReplyDelete
  31. They will have to attack "another player at the least distance away". I'm sorry, but I don't quite get your question?

    ReplyDelete
  32. What I want to say is, is the range of the Character reduced to 1? So that the +1 Horse could prevent your neighbor from attacking you even when they have a weapon.

    ReplyDelete
  33. The range of the character is not reduced to 1. As an example, your left neighbour has a +1 horse and your right neighbour doesn't. You must attack your right neighbour as he is the least distance away from you (1 < 2). Does this help?

    ReplyDelete
  34. 1.) What if they both have +1 horse?

    2.) What if they both have +1 horse and you have a weapon?

    Does the weapon count at all or is it rendered useless?

    ReplyDelete
  35. 1) If they both have +1 horses, you will only be able to hit them if you can actually reach them.. Either you have a weapon of at least range 2, or you have a -1 horse. You can choose which you want to target.

    2) If your weapon has a range of at least 2, you can target either one as their distance to you are both 2.

    ReplyDelete
  36. so if you cannot reach both side because they both have +1, then you would lose 1 health?

    ReplyDelete
  37. If a player is unable to do so (no ATTACK cards to use or attack range cannot reach any player), the player will lose 1 unit of health.

    ReplyDelete
  38. I want to ask if jia xu uses his second ability and the first person he points kills jia xu immediately does that ability stop or does it still activate and everyone else still needs to kill the closest person after death jia xu's death?

    ReplyDelete
  39. Yes, the effect still continues. Also, its not the first person he points to. Rather, the ability follows the turn order starting with the player next to Jia Xu.

    PS: I don't have my rulebook with me at the moment so there's a very slight chance that I could be wrong. Also, I think this should be added to the FAQ.

    ReplyDelete
  40. ^I believe what happens is...when Jia Xu is killed by someone during his second ability, his ability would stop immediately, because that happened to me when I killed Jia Xu during the online version of Sanguosha.

    ReplyDelete
  41. On the +1 horse topic, I believe I can explain a bit:

    If both players have a +1 horse, they are considered 2 distance away. If you can reach them, you can attack them, otherwise you lose life.

    Another thing you might want to note is that if both players next to you have +1 horse equipped, you can even choose to attack players that are 2 spaces away from you as there will be 4 players at distance 2 from you. It looks something like this:

    Case 1:
    P1, P2 (+1), you (-1), P3 (+1), P4
    You may attack P1, P2, P3, P4

    Case 2:
    P1, P2 (+1), you (-1), P3, P4
    You must attack P3

    Case 3:
    P1 (+2), P2 (+1), you (-1), P3 (+1), P4
    You may attack P1, P2, P3

    Case 4:
    P1, P2 (+1), you, P3 (+1), P4
    You must lose life since you don't have range

    ReplyDelete
  42. So i'm wondering if anyone can provide an official FAQ answer on Jia Xu and the black Lightning card. It is mentioned above that if this black suited lightning comes you Jiz Xu it is passed immediately to the next player in line. Then another post suggest that Jiza Xu himself cannot play the black lightning in his turn. However it seems these two stories are contradictory. If the lightning is already played and comes around, at the point it reaches Jia Xu it then targets him and therefor moves to the next player. If Jia Xu were to play it himself, then all he is trying to do is target himself, which cannot be done, and therefor shouldn't the lightning immediately move to the next player ?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. [Q]贾诩能否使用黑色的【闪电】?
      [A]不能,【闪电】的目标是自己。

      ([Q]Can Jia Xu use black LIGHTNING?
      [A]No, because the target of LIGHTNING is yourself)

      [Q]黑色的【闪电】能否传到贾诩的判定区?
      [A]不能。直接传给贾诩的再下一家。

      ([Q]Can black LIGHTNING be passed to Jia Xu's pending area?
      [A]No. It would be passed to the character next to Jia Xu.)

      The logic is the targetting of LIGHTNING. When you use a card, you have to assign a possible target of that card first, or else the card cannot be used.

      For example, when you use an ATTACK, you have to assign a target character in your attack range, but you cannot attack Elder ZGL in "Empty City". (Contrastly, you can use a black ATTACK on Yu Jin, but the black ATTACK does not have effect). If there is no possible target, you cannot use that card.

      The target of LIGHTNING is yourself when you use it, However, Jia Xu cannot be the target of black tool cards. There is no possible target to use the black LIGHTNING, so Jia Xu cannot use BLACK LIGHTNING.

      However, when a time-delay tool card is passed to the pending area of another character, it is considered as targeting that character (see the new description and the FAQ of Zhang He). When a black LIGHTNING is going to pass to Jia Xu, it would not be able to target Jia Xu, but the effect of LIGHTNING has to be resolved. As a result, it would be passed to the character next to Jia Xu.

      Delete
  43. Is there an official statement on whether or not Jia Xu 2nd ability continues if he where to be killed during it's activation ? So if the person following Jia Xu decides to attack Jia Xu and ends up killing him, do the rest of the player continue with the abilities affects or do they immediately end ?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There is no direct official statement, but I can give give you my conclusions and all references from official FAQ. The reply would be a little bit long with multiple comments used.

      1. Jia Xu's FAQ.

      [Q]贾诩发动乱武导致自己死亡后,在当前回合继续结算的濒死事件中,是否还要受到“完杀”技能的影响?
      [A]贾诩死亡后,回合立即结束,所以完杀效果立即消失(但是仍然需要将剩下的事件全部结算完)。

      [Q]After Jia Xu activates "Descend into Chaos" and leads to his own death, when resolving the remaining Brink of Death event, do "Unmitigated Murder" takes effect.
      [A]After the death of Jia Xu, the turn ends immediately, so the effect of "Unmitigated Murder" disappears immediately (but all remaining events must be resolved).

      It is not stated what are *all remaining events must be resolved*, bit it is expected that it refers to the resolving of the effect of "Descend into Chaos".

      Delete
    2. 2. The FAQ of Dian Wei and DG Zhou Yu

      [Q]典韦只剩1点体力时,是否可以发动技能扣减体力?
      [A]可以,只剩1点体力时扣减体力发动强袭,则典韦先进入濒死状态,然后无论是否被救回,强袭的目标仍要受到1点伤害(除非触发胜利条件)

      [Q]When Dian Wei has only 1 unit of health, can he activate his skill and reduce his health?
      [A]Yes, he can reduce his health to activate "Ferocious Assault" when he has only 1 unit of health. In this case, Dian Wei enters the Brink of Death. Regardless being saved back or not, the target of "Ferocious Assault" still needs to suffer 1 damage (unless the victory condition is achieved).

      [Q]发动业炎如果周瑜进入濒死如何结算?先求桃才发动火焰伤害吗?
      [A]对,先求桃,没桃则死亡,但依然可以结算伤害。

      [Q]How to resolve the effect if DG Zhou Yu enters the Brink of Death when activating "Inferno"? Does he need to seek PEACH and then deal fire damage?
      [A]Yes, he needs to seek PEACH or else he dies, but the damage is still resolved?

      [Q]业炎造成的伤害是否从神周瑜起逆时针结算效果,例如第一位是夏侯惇,就先结算刚烈?如果业炎过程中神周瑜死亡,是否继续结算?
      [A]对,逆时针结算,即使死亡,依然结算,除非满足游戏结束条件。

      [Q]Is the damage dealt by "Inferno" be resolved in an anti-clockwise way? For example, if the first one *to suffer the damage is Xiahou Dun*, should "An Eye For An Eye" be resolved first? If DG Zhou Yu dies in midst of the resolving of "Inferno", should the resolving be continue?
      [A]Yes, it is resolved in an anti-clockwise way. Even if he dies, the resolving is continued, unless the victory condition is resolved.

      [Q]业炎发动是否对神周瑜发动时的体力有要求?
      [A]没有,几点体力都可以发动,但如果发动业炎导致周瑜进入濒死状态,则先结算濒死,不管有没有救回,后续伤害都在濒死结算后造成。

      [Q]Is there a requirement of current health of DG Zhou Yu when he activates "Inferno"?
      [A]No, he can activate "Inferno" regardless of his health. However, if the activation of "Inferno" causes DG Zhou Yu to enter the Brink of Death, the Brink of Death should be resolved first, and regardless of being saved or not, the consequential damage would be dealt after the resolve of the Brink of Death.

      In both of their FAQs, they are stated that even if the activator of the ability dies in the process, the whole effect must be resolved.

      Delete
    3. 3. DG Sima Yi's FAQ

      [Q]贾诩发动【乱武】,结算过程中贾诩先死亡,神司马懿再杀死至少一名角色,【乱武】结算完毕后神司马懿是否可以发动【连破】?
      [A]不可以。贾诩死亡其回合立即结束,神司马懿未满足在回合内杀死至少一名角色的条件。

      [Q]In the case Jia Xu activates "Descend into Chaos", Jia Xu dies in the process of resolve, then DG Sima Yi kills at least one more character, can DG Sima Yi activates "Domino Victory" after the end of the resolving of "Descend into Chaos"?
      [A]No. The turn of Jia Xu ends immediately at his death, so DG Sima Yi does not satisfy the prerequisite of killing one or more character in a turn.

      It mentions that DG Sima Yi can kill another character, so it is possible to deduce that the resolving of "Descend into Chaos" continues after the death of Jia Xu (outside Jia Xu's turn, before the turn of another character).

      Conclusion:
      If the character following Jia Xu decides to attack Jia Xu and ends up killing him, the rest of the characters should continue with the effect of "Descend into Chaos".

      Delete
    4. Great. I totally agree. I think the bottom line to clear things up is that, an ability can be activated only when one is alive, however once an ability is activated it must be carried out completely regardless (with the exception of the rulers death). Therefor once Jia Xu's ability Descend into Chaos activates, it must be completely carried out. If Jia Xu happens to die, then his Unmitigated Murder ability can no longer activate upon someone's death. Thanks.

      Delete
  44. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  45. *Jiaxu activated Descend into Chaos
    *(character next to him) used ATTACK on Jiaxu
    *Jiaxu is dying
    *Other players cannot use Peach on Jiaxu (Unmitigated Murder)
    *Jiaxu is dead

    ReplyDelete
  46. Wait, it says with the exception of yourself,only characters who are on the brink of death (health equals zero or less) can use PEACH. And it also says during your turn.

    ReplyDelete
  47. He is saying that if you're not careful of using Descend into Chaos and there are enemies around you who can reach you and does Sha you, if you end up brink of death, only you yourself can save yourself with a peach or wine, if not, you die immediately as other teammates cannot save you because of Unmitigated Murder. Same thing happens if you get struck by lightning.

    ReplyDelete

Site search