Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Peach 桃 (táo)

Posted by Ricky Chua On 8:55 PM 13 comments
Description:
The life-saver. PEACH cards refill one unit of health. Wondering why peach was chosen instead of apples, oranges or durians? Apparently the peach appears in classical novels in Chinese literature, such as Journey to the West 西游记. It is a fruit associated with the heavens for imparting longevity. Read the trivia section below to find out more inconsequential information about Peaches in Chinese culture.

What it does:
It refills one unit of health up to the maximum health limit for the character. It can be used at zero health (brink of death) or even in negative health!

How to use it:
The usage of PEACH can be split into 2 scenarios. The difference in these 2 scenarios are in the recipients of the health increased.
1. Used during your turn to increase your health by 1 unit. You can only increase YOUR health and nobody else's.
2. Used when any player's character is on the brink of death. This is the ONLY situation when PEACH can be used to increase the health of someone else's other than your own.
Common mistakes occur in the usage of the PEACH card.

Trivia:
According to Wikipedia, peaches originated from China! Although i'm inclined to believe that is true, alas i cannot prove it. What Wikipedia does state, though, is peaches have been planted since the 10th Century BC, which means its likely that the characters from the Three Kingdoms legacy would have encountered peaches in their time (~200AD). Up till today, rice pastries are shaped like Peaches for special religious festivals (usually Taoist). Peaches are still very much a part of chinese culture, history and folklore.

13 comments:

  1. Well done!

    Keep this work up!

    ReplyDelete
  2. If I got 1 unit of health left, then I get strike by LIGHTNING that caused a damage of 3 units of health. Do I need 3 PEACH cards to keep surviving since I'm in -2 health condition, or 1 PEACH will be sufficient?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi, thanks for the question.

    The units of health is calculated to negative units. It is quite common in the game to have health of -1 or -2. In the scenario you listed above, you will need a total of 3 peaches or wine (can be intermixed) to go on playing.

    Note that in the extreme case of Zhou Tai 周泰, i have personally seen health counts of up to -8. The theoretical maximum (or minimum) is -12 for him.

    ReplyDelete
  4. After playing a game last night involving godly Guan Yu, a debate started whether or not the player who has the red tokens who dies after failure of judgement can be revived with a peach (from another player, he already failed judgement of drawing the peach).

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hi Simon,

    I'm pretty sure the player that died can be revived with peach. There is no mention that the revival abilities of peach and wine is restricted in any of the characters abilities. So it is business as usual for using peach to revive.

    ReplyDelete
  6. if i have more than 1 peach cards at hand, can i use all of them in the same round on myself to restore my health, given that i will not exceed my maximum health points? or is there a restriction that u can only use one peach in your turn?

    ReplyDelete
  7. Javier: You can use as many as you have available in your turn.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  9. To Simon (and Ricky):
    For Demi-god Guan Yu, his ability causes the direct death of the character, instead of reducing the health to zero. There is no "at brink of death" event, so the character cannot be revived by PEACH nor WINE, even Pang Tong's ability does not work.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hello,

    Can you please clarify the use of wine & peach? In Online SGS, you can use a peach on yourself if you are @ brink of death. Does that mean if you are @ the brink of death and you have both a wine and peach in hand, you can choose either or to revive yourself?

    Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  11. ^ You may choose either one to revive yourself.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Is there a restriction on the number of PEACH cards usable for a player outside of his/her turn?

    e.g. Character A kills Character B; Character C revives B with PEACH; A kills B again; can Character C revive B again, or does someone else have to play a PEACH?

    e.g. Character A kills Character B; Character C revives B with PEACH; A turns the other way and kills Character D; can Character C play another PEACH to revive D?

    ReplyDelete
  13. There is NO limitation of using Peach outside your turn to save other players.

    ReplyDelete

Site search