Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Lightning 闪电 (shǎn diàn)

Posted by Ricky Chua On 6:49 PM 31 comments
Description:
Be afraid of this card. Be very afraid. When LIGHTNING appears, either a particular player has become desperate and suicidal, or the "judgement tinkerers" Si Ma Yi 司马懿 and Zhang Jiao 张角 have reared their ugly head. Typical exclaimations by players when LIGHTNING is used range from "Oh maaaaaaan~" to "Oh f******k~" to "WAH LAO EH~!" Strangely, more often than not the player who activates the LIGHTNING card ends up regretting it.

What it does:
Three units of lightning attribute damage! During the "judgement phase", if the judgement card happens to fall between 2 to 9 of "spades", you get struck by lightning. Immediately lose 3 units of health.

Here's the messed up part: If you happened to be shackled by IRON SHACKLES 铁索连环, every player that is also shackled will also lose 3 units of health since lightning damage can be transmitted!

Here's the super messed up part: The "judgement tinkerers" Si Ma Yi and Zhang Jiao can manipulate the outcome of judgements. Thus when either of these 2 characters are around, they can literally control who gets struck by lightning! "Oh maaaaaaan~"

Here's the insanely messed up part: LIGHTNING does not go away despite not striking the player or using NEGATE 无懈可击. The LIGHTNING card simply moves on to the subsequent player, and the next, and the next, until somebody eventually gets hit! There are only 2 ways to get rid of LIGHTNING without it striking a player. Either use DISMANTLE 过河拆桥 or STEAL 顺手牵羊. Russian roulette anyone?

If you're a total sadist and you love seeing everyone cower in fear, use another LIGHTNING card while the first LIGHTNING card is still making its rounds. That way 2 consecutive judgements need to be made. But don't release your evil laugh just yet! The first player who needs to make 2 consecutive judgements would be you! If you are in luck and both LIGHTNING cards strike you, that's 6 units of health gone! Who's the one laughing then?

How to use it:
LIGHTNING is the only card where you can inflict serious hurt on yourself first before anyone else. This is because to use it, you must first place it in front of YOUR OWN equipped-items cards. Therefore the first judgement of LIGHTNING happens in the next turn of the player who used it. If the judgement card does not fall between 2 to 9 of "spades", the card moves on to the subsequent player. It keeps moving until someone gets struck or someone uses DISMANTLE or STEAL on it.

Take note that if you wish to use NEGATE to avoid getting struck, the NEGATE card has to be used before the judgement card is flipped.

"LIGHTNING-Proof" characters:
Perhaps "LIGHTNING-Proof" is not completely accurate since all of the characters mentioned below are never completely immune to getting struck, but they definitely stand a much much better chance of surviving a LIGHTNING strike or evading it altogether.

1. Younger Zhu Ge Liang 卧龙诸葛亮 - all black-suit cards ("clubs" and "spades") can be used to NEGATE before judgement.

2. Elder Zhu Ge Liang 暮年诸葛亮 - His "Star-Gazing" ability is used before the judgement phase, therefore he can swop the judgement card as he wish.

3. Si Ma Yi 司马懿 - He can use any cards on hand to manipulate the judgement card after it as been revealed.

4. Zhang Jiao 张角 - Same as Si Ma Yi 司马懿 except he can only use "clubs" and "spades" for manipulation.

5. Xiao Qiao 小乔 - She is completely lightning-proof since all her "spade" cards will be viewed as "hearts". Thus even if the judgement card falls between 2 to 9 of spades, to her it will be 2 to 9 of hearts! No strike!

Know other "LIGHTNING-Proof" characters? Leave a comment below!

Trivia:
About 2,000 people are struck by lightning around the world each year. A park ranger in the USA holds the record for being struck 7 times in a span of 35 years. Read more about lightning strikes on Wikipedia.

31 comments:

  1. I think you mentioned this on Xiao Qiao's page when you said she actually is COMPLETELY IMMUNE to lightning since all spades are considered as hearts for her.

    So she actually is lightning proof :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. oh yeah that's right!! Gotta amend that section there.

    Thanks Ryan!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi,

    Would like to clarify. The first judgement of the lightning will start with the player who uses it?

    When the card is passed to the next player (B), will B be able to use STEAL, DISMANTLE or NEGATE before the judgement of the lightning card? or B can use it after he has passed the judgement?

    Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The first judgement of the lightning will start with the player who uses it?

    >> Yes. If player A uses it, he will be the first to have judgement on his next round.


    When the card is passed to the next player (B), will B be able to use STEAL, DISMANTLE or NEGATE before the judgement of the lightning card? or B can use it after he has passed the judgement?

    >> B will not be able to use steal or dismantle once the card is passed to him. The reason is the card will only be passed to him from the previous player. Once B's turn starts he must judgement before he can use steal or dismantle. The only card he can use is Negate.

    Once judgement is over for him, he pass the lightning to the next player. Now he can use steal or lightning to remove it from that player.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Gan Ning is sort of lightning proof. He can dismantle all of the lightning. ^_^

      Delete
  5. Lightning is put on a player and that player dies. Does the lightning go with him?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yup. Lightning gets discarded along with the dead player. Everyone else gets saved.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Does sima yi get the kill if he tinker kills a player?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Nope. Killed by lightning = act of God. Nobody gets the kill, even if it has been tinkered.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Can you use set 2 lightning cards on yourself in one turn? why or why not?

    ReplyDelete
  10. No you cannot use 2 sets of Lightning on yourself.

    The reason is because each player is only allowed 1 Lightning within their pending-judgement area.

    So for instance you have a lightning, and the player on your right also has a lightning. Once your lightning judgement has passed without incident, the lightning card does not go to the player on your right, but instead skips to the next player, 2 players from you on the right.

    ReplyDelete
  11. if I use steal, does the lightning card go into my hand or is it discard (throw away)?

    ReplyDelete
  12. ^^ In your hand.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Some further clarifications:
    1) You cannot play a LIGHTNING when you have a LIGHTNING in your judgement zone. Ricky was too caught up in his evil thinking to realise that in his description of the card! Also, as mentioned, if the next player also has a LIGHTNING, yours will jump to the next available player without LIGHTNING after your judgement if you did not get struck by it.

    2) If you have 1 life left and you get struck by LIGHTNING, you end up on the brink of death with -2 life. Thus, you need 3 wines from your own hand or peaches from any player in other to recover back to 1 life and continue with the game.

    3) Before drawing a judgement card, NEGATE can be used to pass the LIGHTNING on to the next player.

    ReplyDelete
  14. If i have both acedia and lightning on me at the same time, which judgement goes first?

    ReplyDelete
  15. ^ The order of judgement is "last come, first in". That is, the last time-delay tool cards that enter the pending area should carry its judgement first. For further info, see How to play-->Part 4: Judgement.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Can yang xiu uses have your cake to negate lightning?

    ReplyDelete
  17. When I use NEGATE, do I still need to flip the Judgement card? Flipping the Judgement card seems redundant because supposedly I won't get hit if the card is Spade 2-9 or not.

    ReplyDelete
  18. ^^ No, as LIGHTNING is consider to be targeting one character only.

    ^ No. The LIGHTNING would simply pass to the next character.

    ReplyDelete
  19. When someone has 1 life and gets hit by lightning bringing him to -2 life, others can peach him to save him right? What if the peaches used are not enough? (since it goes turn by turn to put a peach to save him). A total of 3 is needed and if 2 different players threw a peach to save him but could not at the end (since it only brings him to 0), do the players who threw the peach take the peach card back or is it considered expended?

    ReplyDelete
  20. ^Expended. No taking back -.-

    ReplyDelete
  21. Hi,

    Just wanna clarify this situation. If someone has a lightning pending in his judgement area and he is killed by another player, what will happen to the pending lightning? pass to the next player or simply discarded into the discard pile.

    Thanks in advance.

    ReplyDelete
  22. ^^^

    It is simply discarded.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Did lightning ever hit anyone in the ROTK story?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, but it was said that mystical individuals like Zhang Jiao, Yu Ji and Zuo Ci can manipulate weather. In the fiction, Zhuge Liang was depicted to summon weather through mystical rituals.

      Delete
  24. RE - lightning proof characters: Jia Xu is unaffected by black suited tool cards, which means he is immune to 1 of the 2 lightnings.

    ReplyDelete
  25. What happens if there are only two players on the field and both have Lightning on them? Does no pass gets done and every turn you just flip for judgement until you or opponent gets hit?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes. (Or if one of them is dismantled.)

      Delete
  26. Wang yi also has a small chance of getting struck as the top two cards need to be 2-9 spades for her to be struck (although zhuge liang requires the top 6 cards to all be 2-9 spades lol)

    ReplyDelete
  27. Can I play Lightning and use Negate on Lightning I Played?
    If can, next player must check Lightning or not?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, you can negate your own lightning on your next turn.

      Yes, it passes to the next player.

      Delete

Site search