Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Description:
Another rare dual-purpose card (to be very anal about it, it is actually tri-purpose). The phrase "killing 2 birds with 1 stone" is taken to the extreme with the IRON SHACKLES card. Use this card to shackle players together, then watch them all fry when any 1 of them receives Fire attribute or Lightning attribute damage. Technically, you can shackle every goddamned mofo that is in play if you have enough of this card. What benefit would that bring, you ask? Well, read on to find out!

Assuming you have no wish to shackle people together, then you can choose to use "RE-DRAW 重铸" to exchange for another card from the deck.

What it does:
This card shackles together 2 players of the user's choice. In order to differentiate the players that have been shackled from those that haven't, the character card (the one with the character name such as "Liu Bei 刘备" etc.) of those who have been shackled will be placed in the "landscape" orientation instead of the usual "portrait" orientation.

When any 1 of the players shackled receives either fire or lightning damage, all the shackled players receive the same amount of damage of that element. Note that damage (not an attack or a tool card effect) is transmitted, therefore the incoming transmitted damage cannot be avoided by DODGE 闪 or NEGATE 无懈可击. However the damage can be deflected if you are using the appropriate character (such as Xiao Qiao 小乔). All shackles are broken immediately after any elemental damage has been transmitted.

Shackles can be broken between 2 players by using another IRON SHACKLES card or using the NEGATE 无懈可击 card.

As there have been many questions regarding IRON SHACKLES, a separate section has been dedicated to the disambiguation of this card in the "Disambiguation" section below.

By choosing to execute RE-DRAW instead of IRON SHACKLES, you get a 1-for-1 exchange immediately by drawing a new card from the deck.

How to use it:
To shackle: Pick 2 players to be shackled. Toss the IRON SHACKLES card into the discard pile. Have these 2 players place their character cards from portrait to landscape orientation.

To unshackle: Pick 2 players that have already been shackled. Toss the IRON SHACKLES card into the discard pile. Have these 2 players revert their character cards back to the portrait orientation.

To use RE-DRAW: Toss this card into the discard pile and redraw another card from the deck. No players will be shackled in doing so. Note that RE-DRAW is not considered "using" this tool card, therefore Huang Yue Ying 黄月英 cannot draw an additional card (2 cards) when executing RE-DRAW.

Disambiguation (FAQ) according to Yoka games FAQ in chinese:
1. If more than 1 IRON SHACKLE card was used to shackle 2 different pairs of players, does it matter which pair of players were shackled for damage transmission and unshackling? For example there are 4 players A, B, C and D. A was shackled with B, and C was shackled with D. If A receives fire damage, will C and D also receive damage? What about unshackling? Must we unshackle only the pairs A-B or C-D? Can we unshackle A-C or B-D?

Ans: There are only 2 status of players: those that are shackled and those that are not. All players that are victims of IRON SHACKLES belong to the shackled status. When fire or lightning damage is received, all players that are in the shackled status will receive damage as well. It does matter specifically whom was shackled with whom.

Therefore to answer the scenario listed above, when A receives fire damage, all 4 players A, B, C and D will receive fire damage since all are in the shackled status. Similarly, any 2 players in the shackled status can be unshackled. Therefore the pairs A-C or B-D can be unshackled.

2. If player A has equipped RATTAN ARMOUR 藤甲 and received fire damage, will all shackled players receive 2 units of damage? Or does player A receive 2 units of damage only?

Ans: All shackled players receive 2 units of damage since the shackles transmit the same elemental damage and the same magnitude as was received by the victim.

3. What if player A has equipped RATTAN ARMOUR and is shackled with player B (who does not have RATTAN ARMOUR equipped), and this time player B receives 1 unit of fire damage?

Ans: Player B receives 1 unit of fire damage while player A receives 2 unit of fire damage. This is because the element and magnitude being transmitted to all is solely determined by the victim (player B). Thus everyone shackled receives 1 unit of fire damage. Player A first receives 1 unit of fire damage, then the damage is increased up to 2 units only for player A because of the RATTAN ARMOUR equipped.

4. Assume player A has SILVER HELMET equipped, and is shackled to player B who does not have any armour equipped. If player B is struck by LIGHTNING 闪电, will player A receive 3 units of damage or only 1?

Ans: Player B receives 3 units of damage while player A receives only 1 unit. However if player A was the one struck by LIGHTNING, all players shackled receive only 1 unit of damage. The logic is similar to question 3.

Shackling yourself to another player:
Now why in the world would you want to do something as crazy as making yourself victim to shackling? Here are two scenarios for you to consider.

1. If you are playing the role of REBEL 反贼 and there is a LIGHTNING out there in play, it can be a pretty good idea to shackle yourself to the RULER 主公. Here's why. Whenever the LIGHTNING reaches you, the LOYALIST 忠臣 would not want the RULER to suffer 3 units of lightning damage if you get struck! There is a chance the LOYALIST may NEGATE the LIGHTNING for you at your turn, just so as to protect the RULER.

Loophole here is that it only works on beginners. The expert players will use their NEGATE to unshackle you and the RULER just before you render judgement for LIGHTNING. But either way, you waste one of their NEGATE cards.

2. This 2nd scenario involves protecting yourself from Zhang Jiao 张角 and his Lightning Bolt attack (2 units of lightning damage if Zhang Jiao uses DODGE and judgement is "spades"). By shackling yourself to him, he would not use Lightning Bolt against you since he would also receive 2 units of damage.

By all means if you have any to contribute, please do leave a comment below!

Historical basis:
The story behind IRON SHACKLES is a significant part of the Battle of Red Cliffs 赤壁之战. Pang Tong 庞统 is a widely known as someone as brilliant as Zhu Ge Liang 诸葛亮 in that era, and when Cao Cao 曹操 happens to "bump" into him, Cao Cao suspected no trickery and quickly sought Pang Tong's council. After surveying Cao Cao's army, Pang Tong notices that the army was ill-trained for battle on the water. Numerous soldiers became sea-sick and, thus, had poor morale for battle. He advises Cao Cao to chain all his ships together using iron shackles. This way all the ships would be as stable as solid ground and his soldiers would regain their morale and confidence. Cao Cao agrees to chain his ships together, praising Pang Tong for his intelligence.

What Cao Cao didn't know was that the shackling of his ships was a ploy by Zhou Yu 周瑜. With all of Cao Cao's ships chained together while at sea, there was no way to break away if a fire broke out. That was exactly what Zhou Yu had in mind. By sending small boats filled with flammable materials towards Cao Cao, a huge fire broke out that practically wiped out Cao Cao's army. Of course, this is a very short summary of a very epic battle. Read more about the Battle of Red Cliffs on Wikipedia!

59 comments:

  1. If Player A (has Rattan Armor) and Player B (Xiao Qiao 小乔) are shackled together, then player A gets hit by a fire attack, will Xiao Qiao 小乔 need 1 card or 2 cards to transfer the damage?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Only 1 card. Xiao Qiao only needs to 1 card to transfer any amount of damage. See Xiao Qiao's page for more info.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Can I unshackle only 1 player with a NEGATE? The text of this card reads "xuan zhe yi zhi liang ming jia she". What exactly does that mean?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Also, where does it say that a NEGATE may be used to unlink characters?

    ReplyDelete
  5. If players A and B have equipped RATTAN ARMOUR 藤甲 and A received fire damage, and thus 2 units of damage, how much damage does player B receive?

    ReplyDelete
  6. @Princemousey - I believe that you cannot use NEGATE to just unshackle one person. This is because you are NEGATE-ing the SHACKLES card and not the character. Also, "xuan zhe yi zhi liang ming jiao se" basically means, "Select two characters". Lastly, it is not stated directly on the card that NEGATE can be used to unlink, but remember that NEGATE can NEGATE any tool card. I'll check the little booklet that came with the expansion pack (to see if it's written there) because there are times when they add extra instructions on there.

    @Anonymous - Player B also receives 2 damage because the amount of damage that is transferred is equivalent to the amount of damage that the original target takes. Check the FAQ section for more disambiguation.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Princemousey: Technically, you can unshackle only 1 player. You are right, the chinese instructions read "1 or up to 2 players". This can be tactically advantageous to unshackle only 1, though this rarely happens in play.

    Ryan has already mentioned that the Negate card is used to negate Iron Shackles since it is a Tool Card.

    Anonymous: Player B receives as much elemental damage as A (ie 2 units)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Player A is shackled to player B, with player B being Xia hou dun. So player A is inflicted with an elemental damage by player C. This damage is spread to player B. Xia hou dun can use Gang Lie 刚烈. Is this Gang Lie used on player C since C is the source of damage?

    ReplyDelete
  9. Gang Lie (An eye for an eye) is used on the player who caused the damage in the first place and not the person he is chained to.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi,
    If A elemental attack B(in shackle status), and dodge the attack, does it means that the shackle status is dissolved, or have to wait till the shackle status is unshackle?

    ReplyDelete
  11. If it is dodged, the shackle status stays. The shackles will only be broken in these 3 scenarios:

    1. Someone uses a NEGATE to unshackle 1 player

    2. Someone uses another iron shackles card to unshackle up to 2 players.

    3. An elemental attack is transmitted through the shackles, and the shackles disappear immediately after that.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Query1:
    一至两名角色 mean 1 or 2 character(s), does it mean that I can choose to shackle/unshackle only 1 person? Not always be 2 person?

    Query2:
    When A use shackle on B and C, B use NEGATE to the shackle, so am I right to say B is not in shackle status, whereas C is in shackle status? or both are not in shackle status as NEGATE the effect of the shackle card?

    ReplyDelete
  13. Query 1: Yes you can choose to unshackle only 1 if you prefer.

    Query 2: Only B is unshackled, while C is still shackled. Although Negate is targeted at the card, but the effects of Negate can only benefit 1 player.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Hi, can I use this card to unshackle 1 hero and shackle another hero at the same time?

    ReplyDelete
  15. No. This card can be used either to shackle or unshackle, and not both.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Can DISMANTLE 过河拆桥 or STEAL 顺手牵羊 get rid of Iron Shackles 铁索连环?

    ReplyDelete
  17. No these two tool cards do not work on Iron Shackles. Only iron shackles card and negate can do so.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Sorry for this long post, but this iron shackling business, is shackling me with a lot of problems.

    1) You can only shackle 2 players? ( not 1, 3 etc)

    2) Can you negate the "Iron Shackles" tool card in general? Or only 1 player? Player A uses shackles on B and C. Player D uses negate on B. Would C still be shackled? Or is the shackles tool card negated, therefore B and C are safe?

    Sorry, just had to bring that up,

    I'm just quoting what you said.

    "The expert players will use their NEGATE to unshackle you and the RULER just before you render judgement for LIGHTNING"

    "Although Negate is targeted at the card, but the effects of Negate can only benefit 1 player"

    ReplyDelete
  19. Also, when you use the Iron shackles card to unshackle, do you have a choice between to unshackle 1 or 2 players, or you can only unshackle 1?....

    If you can only unshackle one player, then I'm assuming the Shackles are by only means of a status, and that the "linkages" between who you shackle them with, is irrelevant.

    Again, I apologize for this long post, I've just been a recent fanatic of this game!

    ReplyDelete
  20. 1) You can only shackle 2 players? ( not 1, 3 etc)

    >>ANS: You can shackle 1 or 2 players. The post will be updated accordingly. Thanks for pointing this out.

    2) Can you negate the "Iron Shackles" tool card in general? Or only 1 player? Player A uses shackles on B and C. Player D uses negate on B. Would C still be shackled? Or is the shackles tool card negated, therefore B and C are safe?

    >>ANS: The NEGATE card is always effective for one player only. This applies to other tool cards such as Barbarians 南蛮入侵 and Harvest 五谷丰登 (only negate one player from its effects). So in your example, C would still be left in a shackled status.

    3) Also, when you use the Iron shackles card to unshackle, do you have a choice between to unshackle 1 or 2 players, or you can only unshackle 1?....

    >>ANS: You can unshackle up to 2 players, applies the same way as shackling.


    Glad you are enjoying the game! Have fun!!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I'm Da Qiao. Say if somebody uses Fire Sha on Cao Cao, and both me and him are shackled. When Cao Cao gets hit, can I still use Da Qiao's ability to transfer the "transmitted" attack?

    ReplyDelete
  22. No. Da Qiao can only deflect an ATTACK. What is transmitted through the shackles is damage, thus Da Qiao cannot deflect it.

    Xiao Qiao, on the other hand, can deflect damage.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Hi, Wanna ask if player A and B are shackled, Player C fire attack on Player A, Player A use Dodge, do Player B need to use dodge as well? Or he don't need to do anything

    ReplyDelete
  24. Player B does not have to do anything.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Say most of the shackled players have 1 life remaining, and somebody attacks a shackled player with fire attack.

    1)If 3 of them die, and they're all rebels, the attacker draws 9 cards?


    2) If they do all die, what's the order of elimination after the attack?

    ReplyDelete
  26. 1)If 3 of them die, and they're all rebels, the attacker draws 9 cards?

    >>ANS: Yes. The attacker draws 9 cards.


    2) If they do all die, what's the order of elimination after the attack?

    >>ANS: I'm a little unsure of the question. Are you referring to which of the 3 will die first? If yes, then the order is in an anticlockwise fashion from the attacker (as always).

    ReplyDelete
  27. I got a question~ Just encountered it today... I was 黄月英. Can I use this card like 无中生有? meaning I use the second ability of this card (discard to draw a card) and then draw one card because of 黄月英's own ability?

    My friends disagree with me, because they say I am discarding it, thus not using a 锦囊 card (But I am thinking that disagree because they scared I too imbal. Lol). So.. ya.. just wanna check it here...

    ReplyDelete
  28. Hi zhichao, the answer can be found in the "How to use it" section above.

    In short, Huang Yue Ying cannot use this card like 无中生有 because when you choose to re-draw 重铸, you are not "using" this tool card. Therefore Huang Yue Ying's ability does not activate.

    ReplyDelete
  29. Suppose I am the DEFECTOR.

    I shackle myself to one of the LOYALISTS.

    The RULER correctly suspects that I am the DEFECTOR, so he begins attacking me.

    However, since I am shackled to one of the LOYALISTS, the RULER'S assault on me ends up killing his LOYALIST, indirectly.

    Does the RULER still have to drop all of his equipment and hand cards for doing this?

    ReplyDelete
  30. suppose 3 people are chained together n one of them has rattan armor on

    i was using Lu Bu 吕布 and had Heaven Scorcher Halberd 方天画戟 equipped and used my last fire attack targeting the 3 players if none of them can dodge do they take 4 dmg each?

    1 because of player A + 1 because of player B + 2 because of player C with the rattan armor on?

    ReplyDelete
  31. The attack is resolved one player at a time. Means target A will decide whether to play a DODGE first. If he does, then we go on to player B. If player B does not DODGE, he gets hit for 1, player A gets hit for 1, player C get hit for 2, and the shackles are broken. When its player C's turn to dodge, the shackles are already broken, so he either gets hit for 2 or DODGES.

    Is this clear enough for you? Let me know..

    ReplyDelete
  32. so basically your saying because there's multiple targets it doesn't happen simultaneously and therefore damage cant be stacked when multiple players that are chained together are hit

    ReplyDelete
  33. I'm saying that it doesn't happen simultaneously. You still resolve one target at a time.

    ReplyDelete
  34. ah i see thx for answering such a question =)

    ReplyDelete
  35. suppose in a 1v1 situation, where Zhang Jiao is the defector against the ruler. When both of them are at 2 hp left the ruler shackles the two. Now the ruler attacks Zhang Jiao and he use his lightning strike ability on the ruler. In this situation who dies first? who wins?

    ReplyDelete
  36. "the order is in an anticlockwise fashion from the attacker (as always)" - Ricky

    This means that the ruler would resolve his brink of death first before Zhang Jiao.

    ReplyDelete
  37. ^^ Also, the ruler is the initial target of "Thunderstrike", so he must be the one who receive the lightning damage first...

    ReplyDelete
  38. can we shackle people regardless of the range? or they have to be beside each other

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. u can shackle any 2 players, dont have to be beside one another.

      Delete
    2. you can shackle ANY one or two players, or unshackle ANY one or two players, regardless of ANY range or physical distance -.-

      Delete
  39. hi,
    if there are only 2 statuses, shackled and unshackled, and Shackles states that u can pick up to 2 players.
    if A uses Shackle on B and C, B's status is shackled already, C's status is unshackled, will that change B's status to UNshackled and C's to Shackled?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nope. Each Shackles card con only perform either shackling or unshackles, but not a combination of both. So with this card you can:

      Shackle 1 player
      Shackle 2 players
      Unshackle 1 player
      Unshackle 2 players
      Re-draw

      You CAN NOT unshackle 1 player and at with the same card shackle another player

      Delete
    2. No, you can shackle player A and unshackle player B at the same time.

      Delete
  40. If everybody is shackled except the king (the king used shackle) and then the king attacks somebody (not a loyal) but as the damage is propagated to everyone, the loyal dies in the process. Does the king loses all his cards in this situation?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, the KING (RULER) have to discard all his cards. Because the source of that ATTACK damage is still came from the KING itself. Same goes to if Xiao Qiao's Heavenly Scent pass the damage to a LOYALIST or Da Qiao's Displacement pass the ATTACK to a LOYALIST which eventually kill him/her -.-

      Delete
  41. 4 players are left in the game: Defector, Ruler, Loyalist and Rebel. Both the Ruler and Rebel is in the linked status. If the Rebel use Blaze 火攻 on himself and killed the Ruler along with himself. So the remaining alive players are Defector and Loyalist. Who is consider the winner of this game?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The rebels. The rebels win if the ruler is killed and not on 1-on-1 with the defector, Even if they are all killed.

      An interesting case in my experience is that Zhang Jiao is the ruler and all rebels are killed. Zhang Jiao places LIGHTNING on his head, but he does not have a club card to exchange his spade judgement card...

      Delete
    2. The Rebel will win because the Defector still alive, but the Ruler has died first. The Rebel will technically win even if all the Rebels has died -.-

      Delete
    3. And also the Loyalist have not died yet.

      Delete
  42. The "What it does" part of this card is ambiguous. I suggest rephasing it like this:

    The card can shackle or unshackle 1 or 2 players of the user's choice. In order to ...

    "Shackles can be broken between 2 players by using another IRON SHACKLES card or using the NEGATE 无懈可击 card." shall be changed to:
    The shackle of a player can be broken by using another IRON SHACKLES card, or, before he/she was shackled, playing a NEGATE 无懈可击 card to nullify the effect of the IRON SHACKLES on him/her when a NEGATE 无懈可击 was played.

    Note:
    1. You can shackle one player and unshackle another, using a single IRON SHACKLES.
    2. You can target your IRON SHACKLES on one player only, shackling or unshackling him/her.
    3. The target of the tool card NEGATE 无懈可击 is *another tool card*, nullifying its effect on *a single player*. It cannot be targeted on a player, status, or anything else.


    And we'd better update the section "How to use it" as well, regarding the issue of shackling/unshackling with a single card.

    ReplyDelete
  43. What happens when 2 people who have rattan armour are shackled and one of them receives a fire damage? would the other guy get 3 damage?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It depends. The damage addition effect is activated passively when someone who suffers the initial fire damage, and also someone who suffers the fire damage transmitted by IRON SHACKLES.

      Only the initial damage would be transmitted by IRON SHACKLES, not the damage received by the previous transmitted damage.

      Let the initial recipient be A, and the others be B and C.

      1) If A and B wears RATTAN ARMOUR, A would receive 2 units of fire damage. B would receive 3 units of fire damage, because both the initial recipient and B wears RATTAN ARMOUR. C would receive 2 units of fire damage, not 3, because only the initial recipient wears the RATTAN ARMOUR.

      2) If B and C wears RATTAN ARMOUR, A would receive 1 unit of fire damage. B and C would receive 2 unit of fire damage each.

      Delete
  44. According to the official SGS FAQ at http://www.sanguosha.com/data/newsDetail.asp?id=43&CategoryID=5011 (the second point)

    SHACKLES cannot be NEGATED when cast. NEGATE can only be used to block the damage going to be taken due to the effect of the shackles. For example, A and B are in the SHACKLED state and C deals 1 FIRE DAMAGE to A - B can use NEGATE to negate the effect of the shackles. A takes the damage and becomes UNSHACKLED state, and B doesn't take the damage and remains in the SHACKLED state.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am afraid you misunderstand the sentence.

      [Q]使用【铁索连环】时,能否用无懈可击抵消?
      [A]重铸【铁索连环】不能被无懈可击,当发动连环效果时,无懈可击抵消其对某一角色的效果。

      [Q]When using IRON SHACKLES, can it be neutralized by NEGATE?
      [A]You cannot use NEGATE when someone redraw IRON SHACKLES. When you use it to shackle someone, you can use NEGATE to neutralize the effect of NEGATE.

      Delete
    2. The only time you can negate a shackle is when it is being applied, you can choose to negate one of the target and in doing so the other person will be left shackled by himself.

      Once a shackle has been chained and you miss the opportunity above there will be no way to stop the chained damage. Unless ofcourse some one uses another chain to destroy it.

      Delete
  45. can you "negate" a "re-draw"?

    ReplyDelete
  46. can you "negate" "re-draw"?

    ReplyDelete
  47. Can Yú Jí verbalize "iron shackle" as "re-draw"?
    since "re-draw" isn't considered as "using" the toolcard

    ReplyDelete

Site search