Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Monday, August 30, 2010

Páng Dé 庞德

Posted by Ricky Chua On 10:57 PM 12 comments
Translated description:
"Ride and Rider as One 人马一体 (rén mǎ yì tǐ)"

Wikipedia link: Pang De Wiki

Who is he:
The rider on a white horse, Pang De is a very capable military general that served under Ma Chao 马超 and his father, Ma Teng 马腾. After the death of Ma Teng, Pang De and Ma Chao resisted the attacks of Cao Cao 曹操 but were unable to hold on to their city of Han Zhong 汉中. Ma Chao fled to join Liu Bei 刘备 in Shu Han 蜀汉 while Pang De surrendered to Cao Wei 曹魏. Cao Cao thought highly of Pang De and gave him a high position in the military. However at the battle of Fan Cheng 樊城之战, Pang De's loyalty came into question. This was because his old partner Ma Chao and his elder brother were aiding the enemy in that very siege. To prove his loyalty, Pang De kow-towed to Cao Cao till his head bled and brought along his own coffin into battle to prove that he would rather die than return defeated. Pang De did not succeed and was executed by Guan Yu 关羽.

Character ability 1: [Enforced ability] "Horsemanship 马术 (mǎ shù)"
You will always have a -1 distance advantage (default "-1 horse" equipped).

Character ability 2: "Fearsome Advance 猛进 (měng jìn)"
Whenever your ATTACK 杀 is evaded by DODGE 闪, you can discard one of your opponent's cards (on-hand or equipped).

Note that Pang De selects the card for discarding and not the opponent.

Ability's relation to story:
Pang De has always been known for his superb horsemanship and is even nicknamed the White Horse General for his white steed. Therefore "Horsemanship" is no surprise. "Fearsome Advance" on the other hand, does not seem to have any appreciable link to the story.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Carrying his coffin into battle. The coffin is intended to send a message to Cao Cao that either Guan Yu or himself will be in the coffin by the end of the battle. This establishes his determination and loyalty to Cao Wei. It is also awesome fodder for a dramatized story.

2. Cause of death - Pang De was eventually caught by Guan Yu when Fan Cheng became flooded due to the torrential rains. Pang De refused to kneel to Guan Yu or surrender. Guan Yu had no alternative but to execute him.

FAQ and Disambiguation

1. If Pang De attacks Zhao Yun and an "attack" is used to "dodge", does his ability still activate?

Ans:Yes it does.


2.Does Pang De gets to pick up a card from the deck if the target Pang De attacks has only one dodge on his hand?

Ans: No.Pang De cannot draw a card from the deck using his ability. It should never happen.

If the victim has no more cards onhand but have cards equipped,the equipped cards can be dismantled too. If the victim has no cards left whatsoever, then Pang De will not get to use his ability.


3.If Pang De attacks a character that has Eight Trigrams armor equipped, and the character successfully judges an auto-dodge,can Pang De then use his ability to destroy that armor?

Ans:Yes, he can.

12 comments:

  1. If Pang De equips a -1 horse, does he gain -2 advantage?

    ReplyDelete
  2. If 庞德 attacks 赵云, and an "attack" is used to "dodge", does 猛进 still activate?

    ReplyDelete
  3. What happens when he attacks Zhang Jiao and he dodges? Does Pang De activate his ability first? Or does Zhang Jiao?

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have previously answered this question in Zhang Jiao's page. I'm duplicating the answer below for your reference.

    (see Zhang Jiao's page)
    Zhang Jiao performs lightning strike BEFORE Pang De gets to discard Zhang Jiao's cards. The reason for this is as follows (based on the chinese instructions on the cards):

    Zhang Jiao's lightning strike takes place before the conclusion of the DODGE (闪结算前) whereas Pang De's ability states when ATTACK has been DODGED (杀被闪抵消时). Thus it appears that Zhang Jiao's lightning strike takes precedence.

    ReplyDelete
  5. If the target Pang De attacks has only one dodge on his hand, then after the target uses it, does Pang De get to pick up a card from the deck since they have no cards on their hands?

    ReplyDelete
  6. No. Pang De cannot draw a card from the deck using his ability. It should never happen.

    If the victim has no more cards onhand but have cards equipped, the equipped cards can be dismantled too. If the victim has no cards left whatsoever, then Pang De will not get to use his ability.

    ReplyDelete
  7. If 庞德 attacks a character that has 八卦阵 equipped,and the character successfully judges an auto-dodge, can 庞德 then use his ability to destroy that 八卦阵?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Can Pang De discard a judgment card ?

    ReplyDelete
  9. No, cards in the judgement zone are not considered to belong to any player.

    ReplyDelete

Site search