Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Sunday, August 29, 2010

Yuán Shào 袁绍

Posted by Ricky Chua On 10:12 AM 16 comments
Translated description:
"Aristocratic Ancestry 高贵的名门 (gāo guì dè míng mén)"

Wikipedia link: Yuan Shao Wiki

Who is he:
At one point of time he became the most powerful warlord in all of China, thanks to a coalition of numerous warlords in an effort to overthrow the tyrannical Dong Zhuo 董卓. He was the most powerful because he was nominated to lead the entire coalition, akin to the modern day Secretary-General of the United Nations, thanks to his noble ancestry. His great-grandfather was an interior minister that served directly under the Emperor. However Yuan Shao's power was short-lived, as he very quickly lost the respect of the other warlords in the coalition. He became known as an incompetent leader that made poor use of his resources and was too indecisive to be effective. The coalition fell apart and Yuan Shao turned back to being warlord of the northern territories. He did not last very long as Cao Cao 曹操 sought to eliminate him and bring the entire northern China under his rule.

Character ability 1: "Chaos Strike 乱击 (luàn jī)"
During your action phase, you can choose to discard any 2 on-hand cards with the same suit as RAINING ARROWS 万箭齐发.

Character ability 2: [Ruler ability] [Enforced ability] "Bloodline 血裔 (xuè yì)"
Your limit for on-hand cards at the end of your turn increases by 2 for every one Heroes 群雄 character (other than yourself) still in play.

Ability's relation to story:
Yuan Shao's use of arrows is already mentioned in my post on RAINING ARROWS 万箭齐发. As for "Bloodline", it has already been mentioned that Yuan Shao is descended from a high-ranking official. The game makers are simply borrowing that link to label this ability.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Leading the coalition of forces against Dong Zhuo. There were at least 10 different warlords in the coalition with troops numbering half a million or more. Even before Dong Zhuo took the Emperor hostage, Yuan Shao was adamant in killing off the corrupt officials that caused the decay of the dynasty. In a way, Yuan Shao is not a bad guy: he just does not make a very effective leader.

2. Cause of death - Cao Cao defeated Yuan Shao at the battle of Guan Du 官渡之战, which became highlighted as a prime show of Cao Cao's superior strategy and tactics. Yuan Shao had a force many times larger than Cao Cao, but yet he suffered a terrible loss. Cao Cao analyzed Yuan Shao as being unwilling to listen to his advisors, stubborn, and tolerating general disunity under his rule. Yuan Shao did not die in battle, but he did not live long after either. As a show of respect for his former friend, Cao Cao paid his respects at Yuan Shao's tomb later on.

FAQ and Disambiguation

1.Can the ruler character card(i.e.yuan shao,liu bei,cao cao etc)use their ruler ability in game even though their role is not ruler?(i.e.they are rebel/loyalist/villian)

Ans:No they cannot.Ruler ability only applies when their role is Ruler.

16 comments:

  1. i dont think hes from the original pack

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes you are right! Thanks for your feedback!

    ReplyDelete
  3. For the 2nd ability, does he himself count as 1; that is if he's a RULER, can he hold 7 cards to begin with?

    ReplyDelete
  4. No he cannot. This is a mistake on my part as I left out the phrase "Heroes characters other than himself", which is stated in the card in chinese. I'll make the amendments! Thanks for pointing this out.

    To summarize, Yuan Shao cannot increase his max card count if he is the only Heroes character in the game.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Can the ruler character card (i.e. yuan shao, liu bei, cao cao etc) use their ruler ability in game even though their role is not ruler? (i.e. they are rebel/loyalist/villian)

    ReplyDelete
  6. No they cannot. Ruler ability only applies when their role is Ruler.

    ReplyDelete
  7. When you say limit, does that apply to health units as well? For example, Yuan shao's first turn as ruler, his limit is 5 cards (5 health), and there's 2 heroes in play, therefore the next turn is 9 cards? So if yuan shao loses a unit of health, his limit would be 8 right? And, after his second turn as ruler, would his on hand limit increase by 4 again? (2 heroes still in play) thus bringing the total to 12?

    ReplyDelete
  8. And does the limit for on hand cards decrease as the heroes die, or do they stay that way just not increasing as they die?

    ReplyDelete
  9. "When you say limit, does that apply to health units as well? For example, Yuan shao's first turn as ruler, his limit is 5 cards (5 health), and there's 2 heroes in play, therefore the next turn is 9 cards? So if yuan shao loses a unit of health, his limit would be 8 right? And, after his second turn as ruler, would his on hand limit increase by 4 again? (2 heroes still in play) thus bringing the total to 12?"

    >>ANS: His card limit for that turn is calculated as his health at the end of that turn plus (no. of heroes x 2).

    Eg: 1st turn, there are 2 heroes, his health is at 5. Card limit = 9.
    2nd turn, still 2 heroes, his health is still 5. Card limit is still = 9.
    3rd round, 1 hero died, 1 hero still alive, his health is still 5. Card limit = 7.
    4th round, there is 1 hero, his health is now 3. Card limit = 5.

    This should also answer the second question on limits decreasing as heroes die.

    ReplyDelete
  10. i can't any place to put this, but i just want to let u know that there is a new character in the official online Sangosha. "袁术".
    u can use it when u reach level 10 up

    check it out!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Can Cao Cao keep the 2 cards that was discarded to perform RAINING ARROWS?

    ReplyDelete
  12. Yes Cao Cao most definately can keep the 2 cards Yuan Shao uses for Raining Arrows as long as Cao Cao receives the damage from it.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yes, that is correct. This is because the 2 cards represent a RAINING ARROWS. However, note that character abilities that cause damage to Cao Cao directly, without having a physical card, do not allow Cao Cao to gain anything.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Can his Raining arrows be negated even though it is an ability?

    ReplyDelete
  15. From what i know, it can be negated.

    ReplyDelete
  16. yes because his ability is to use the 2 card as raining arrows, which is a tool card

    ReplyDelete

Site search