Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Diǎn Wěi 典韦

Posted by Ricky Chua On 3:31 PM 18 comments
Translated description:
"The E-Lai of ancient times 古之恶来 (gǔ zhī è lái)"

This requires a little explanation. "E Lai 恶来" was a stout hero in ancient times (yes even more ancient than the Three Kingdoms) who was so freaking strong he could tear up a tiger with his bare hands. E Lai served King Zhou 纣王 in the Shang Dynasty 商朝. The Shang Dynasty dates back more than 1000 years before the Three Kingdoms era (BC 1600 - 1000 approx).

Wikipedia link: Dian Wei Wiki

Who is he:
The incredible Hulk of ancient China. Dian Wei was reputed to have superhuman strength and was Cao Cao 曹操's trusted bodyguard. Sadly, though, most people who know the story would remember Dian Wei for his premature death. While alive, he was extremely loyal to Cao Cao and was always seen by Cao Cao's side. He uses a unique pair of Halberds that weighs 20kg each (yeah right!!!) that is never again mentioned in the story after his death. Even in death, Dian Wei still got airtime in the story because every time Cao Cao passed nearby Dian Wei's tomb, he would pay a visit and weep for the loss of his bodyguard.

Character ability: "Ferocious Assault 强袭 (qiáng xí)"
During the action phase of your turn, you can inflict 1 unit of damage to any player within your attacking range by either 1 of these 2 actions:

1. Reducing 1 unit of your own health, or
2. Discarding 1 "weapon card 武器牌" (can be on-hand or currently equipped)

Limited to one use per turn.

Ability's relation to story:
This ability, in my opinion, is related to the circumstances that killed Dian Wei. His enemies knew that Dian Wei is feared because of his dual halberds. Just prior to the attack, a defector stole his pair of halberds while Dian Wei was sleeping. When Dian Wei awoke during the chaos, he found his halberds missing but fought on with his bare hands anyway. Dian Wei then grabbed enemy soldiers and swung them about like batons, using the enemy themselves as weapons. However, Dian Wei was still wounded and slowly bled to death, all the while fighting like a mad man and killing many before he took his last breath. Therefore I see a connection between "discarding a weapon card" and his halberds getting stolen. There is also less direct link between "reducing 1 unit of health" and his fight to the death.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Ironically, his famed strength and his nickname "E Lai of ancient times" comes from one singular event that was not battle-related at all. It was when Cao Cao first met Dian Wei that Cao Cao asked to see what he could do, sort of like an "interview". Dian Wei saw a huge banner that was toppling in strong winds. An whole crowd of soldiers could not keep the banner upright in that wind. Dian Wei grab the banner and held it upright and steady with only one-hand. It was then that Cao Cao exclaimed "You are the E Lai of ancient times".

2. Cause of death - Cao Cao wanted to take the widow of Zhang Ji 张济 as his concubine. Zhang Ji's distant nephew, Zhang Xiu 张秀, was pissed. Knowing this, Cao Cao plotted to kill Zhang Xiu, but Zhang Xiu threw a surprise attack instead on Cao Cao. This battle is known as the battle of Wan Cheg 宛城之战 and it was where Dian Wei was killed (as mentioned under "Ability's relation to story").

FAQ and Disambiguation

1. Can Dodge be used to avoid damage from Dian Wei's ability?

Ans: No . It cannot be avoided by Dodge.


2. Can Dian Wei use his ability and ''Attack''  in the same round?

Ans: Yes he can.


3. Can Dian Wei commit suicide to take out a player by sacrificing himself?

Ans: Yes he can. Dian Wei can sacrifice his last unit of health to cause damage to another player. Of course, all other player are allowed to rescue both Dian Wei and the victim.


4.  Does Dian Wei have to be saved first in order for the damage to go through?

Ans: No. The ability still goes through even if  Dian Wei dies from his sacrifice.


5. If its down to 1-vs-1 and Dian Wei sacrifice his last unit of health to finish off the Ruler, who will win?

Ans: Ruler wins, Dian Wei loses. After using the ability , Dian Wei is considered zero health first before the damage is received by the Ruler. If nobody saves Dian Wei, then he dies first and games ends immediately (since all  Rebels/Defectors dead ).


6. After throwing his equipped weapon to use his ability, will the reach be the old range before discarding , or a new one after discarding?

Ans: It is the new reach without the weapon . Once the equipped weapon is discarded for his ability ,the ability range immediately drops to 1.

18 comments:

  1. Does "san" mitigate the attacks done by his ability?

    ReplyDelete
  2. hi simon

    i think this damage couldnt be dodged. Because it's a damage not by "sha"

    ReplyDelete
  3. Can he use his ability and "Sha" in the same round?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes he can. If used correctly, Dian Wei can deliver massive damage to his victim.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Say if the Ruler has 2 lives left, and Dian Wei has one. Given the ruler has no ways of dodging, Dian Wei uses an attack card, now the lives are equal. Can Dian Wei commit suicide to take out the Ruler by sacrificing himself to finish off the ruler?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yes. Perfectly possible. Dian Wei can sacrifice his last unit of health to cause damage to another player.

    Of course, all other players are allowed to rescue both Dian Wei and the victim.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thus if it is down to ruler vs rebel with 1 health each... Who would win if Dian Wei sacrifice his last unit of health to cause damage to finish off the opponent.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Dian Wei loses and Ruler wins. The logic is the same as Demi-God Guan Yu vs Ruler. After using the ability, Dian Wei is considered zero health first before the damage is received by Ruler.

    If nobody saves Dian Wei, then he dies first and the game ends immediately (since all Rebels/Defectors dead).

    Thus Ruler wins.

    I know i know... arguable.

    ReplyDelete
  9. If you throw an equipped weapon to use his ability, is the reach the old range (of the weapon), or the new (without weapon)?

    ReplyDelete
  10. It is the new reach without the weapon!

    ReplyDelete
  11. 2 questions:

    a) If dian wei is at 1 health, and he sacrifices it to kill somebody, therefore at the brink of death, does he have to be saved first in order for the damage to go through? or does the effect end since he's dead?

    b) If dian wei discards the equipped weapon (4 ranges) to inflict damage to somebody that's 4 ranges away, does the damage still go through?

    ReplyDelete
  12. a) If dian wei is at 1 health, and he sacrifices it to kill somebody, therefore at the brink of death, does he have to be saved first in order for the damage to go through? or does the effect end since he's dead?

    >>ANS: The ability still goes through, even if Dian Wei dies from his sacrifice.


    b) If dian wei discards the equipped weapon (4 ranges) to inflict damage to somebody that's 4 ranges away, does the damage still go through?

    >>ANS: No. Once the equipped weapon is discarded for his ability, the ability range immediately drops to 1. Someone at range 4 will be out of range.

    ReplyDelete
  13. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  14. dian wei is one of my favourite players to use as rebel, especially next to the ruler

    ReplyDelete
  15. If Dian Wei targets a player like Xiahou Dun and they both are at one health. Other players aren't saving them. When Dian Wei uses his power he will certainly die first, but will Xiahou Dun die at all? Dian Wei is already dead, so will his power still cause damage posthumously?

    ReplyDelete
  16. Dian Wei cant used his ability to reduce his last life unless he (or his teammates) is capable of saving him. The ability is not to be used as a suicide move.
    Xiahou Dun ability, can only be activated once he is rescued from the brink of death.

    ReplyDelete
  17. ^ No. Dian Wei can use his ability as a suicidal move. If he uses the ability at 1 health, he enters the Brink of Death state. No matter he is rescued or not, the target will receive 1 damage, unless the victory condition has been satisfied, e.g. Dian Wei is the ruler and dies because of the loss of health (no one rescues him), so the rebels (or the defector) win the game.

    ReplyDelete
  18. This Dian Wei looks kind of Gothic...

    ReplyDelete

Site search