Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Yán Liáng & Wén Chǒu 颜良文丑

Posted by Ricky Chua On 1:45 PM 14 comments
Translated description:
"Tiger & Wolf Brothers 虎狼兄弟 (hǔ láng xiōng dì)"

Wikipedia link: Yan Liang & Wen Chou Wiki

Who are they:
The top 2 military generals under Yuan Shao 袁绍, Yan Liang and Wen Chou were good friends and were said to be equal in combat skills. The story did not give them much air time, but enough mention was made to highlight their ability. Under the early coalition led by Yuan Shao, a formidable opponent called Hua Xiong 华雄 challenged the coalition and killed many generals. Yuan Shao lamented that both Yan Liang and Wen Chou were not around, else they would surely destroy Hua Xiong easily. Later parts of the story did not mention both Yan Liang and Wen Chou together in combat, but these two are typically associated. It does seem like their capabilities were over-promised as both fell victim to Guan Yu 关羽.


Character ability: "Dual Heroes 双雄 (shuāng xióng)"
During the drawing phase, you can choose to forfeit the drawing phase and opt for a judgement card to be flipped. Unlike usual judgement cards, this particular judgement card can be kept into your hand. Note the colour of the suit (black or red) of this judgement card. For the rest of your action phase, you can choose to use any on-hand card with a different colour from this judgement card as DUEL 决斗.

Ability's relation to story:
Very little relation can be drawn from the story linking DUEL to these two characters. All that is known is that both of them are commonly referred together as a pair, thus the name "Dual Heroes".

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Neither of them had much notable achievement, except their leader Yuan Shao's praise for them.

2. Cause of death - Both were killed by Guan Yu in battle. Yan Liang had his head severed by Guan Yu and brought back to Cao Cao 曹操 during the battle at Bai Ma 白马之战. Guan Yu was virtually unopposed as he charged straight towards Yan Liang. With one blow he struck down Yan Liang, then severed his head and brought it back by tying it around his horses neck. Wen Chou was killed in a subsequent battle. His troops fell into disorder after Cao Cao cunningly left numerous horses for Wen Chou's troops to plunder. Cao Cao's generals attacked in the midst of the disorder and Wen Chou was forced to flee. However, Guan Yu was waiting at his retreat route and they fought a few bouts. Wen Chou retreatedly hastily, but Guan Yu was riding the Red Hare 赤兔 of Lu Bu 吕布, whose speed allowed him to catch up to Wen Chou and slay him from behind.

FAQ and Disambiguation

1.Will Duel(black card) work on Jia Xu?

Ans:No.Once Duel heroes is used,YL&WC can choose to use on-hand cards as DUEL is a tool card,regardless of what the actual is.(For example:You use a black ATTACK card as DUEL.It is no longer seen as a basic card, but instead is now a tool card.) Therefore Jia Xu will still not be affected.


2.Does the player gets to literally keep the judgement card or he just keeps it to create duels, then after it's discarded?

Ans: The player literally gets to keep the card.
        For instance, if the judgement card was a PEACH, he gets to keep the PEACH card, and he can 
        choose to use that PEACH card in his turn.
        In short, his card intake for that round will be 1(instead of the usual 2), and that 1 card is the judgement
        card.

14 comments:

  1. They have to keep a few ATTACK cards before hand to use the ability, otherwise the damage will be towards themselves. It will be safer to DUEL people with very few on-hand cards or none at all.

    ReplyDelete
  2. True. You wouldn't want to duel non-stop with Lu Meng that's holding on to 20 cards.

    Target those characters with low health and can only keep a few cards on hand. Use Yan Liang Wen Chou to finish them off.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Does the ability means that you can just keep whatever card that was flipped over as judgment card? And does it mean that the "judgment" is just for them to use a different colour card as duel?

    Sounds like a not-so-bad ability as it sort of guarantee you one attack card in specific scenario.

    On a side note, which one is yan liang and which 1 is wen chou on the card picture?

    ReplyDelete
  4. This particular judgement card can be kept by the player. Note the colour of the suit (black or red) of this judgement card. For the rest of their action phase, they can choose to use any on-hand card with a different colour from this judgement card as DUEL 决斗.

    Actually, I don't quite understand the question. I think this passage written by Ricky seems solid enough?

    I guess the guy behind is Yan Liang!

    ReplyDelete
  5. The downside of these guys are the need for a big stash of cards to do big damage. On his own, its very unlikely that he will dig up more than 7 on-cards.

    Add to that the particular round where he uses ability he only gains 1 card.

    Therefore my personal suggestion when using him, use his ability on your very first turn. At least you would have 5 cards, and if you're lucky, able to shoot at least 3 Duels.

    Another side note:

    If you use a card giver (Liu Bei, Guo Jia etc) and YL&WC is on your side, be sure to give him a ton of cards!

    ReplyDelete
  6. will its Duel (black card) work on Jiǎ Xǔ?

    ReplyDelete
  7. I assume that you are referring to after using the Dual Heroes ability.

    The answer is No. Once Dual heroes is used, YL&WC can choose to use on-hand cards as DUEL. But DUEL is a tool card, regardless of what the actual is.

    (For example: You use a black ATTACK card as DUEL. It is no longer seen as a basic card, but instead is now a tool card.)

    Therefore Jia Xu will still not be affected.

    On the other hand, if all your RED cards are DUEL, then you would have a big advantage over Jia Xu.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Let me elaborate a bit more, because Jiǎ Xǔ 贾诩 has the character ability 3 : [Enforced ability] "Behind the Curtain 帷幕 (wéi mù)"
    Jia Xu cannot become the target of tool cards with the suit of "clubs" or "spades".

    and if Yán Liáng & Wén Chǒu 颜良文丑 use its character ability and flipped a red card, so then all its blacks card can be used as a DUEL card.

    then will the DUEL card still work on Jiǎ Xǔ?

    ReplyDelete
  9. Nope. They still will not work on Jia Xu.

    ReplyDelete
  10. When you mention "kept" by the player, do you mean the player gets to literally keep the judgment card after? or he just keeps it to create duels, then after it's discarded?

    ReplyDelete
  11. The player literally gets to keep the card.

    For instance, if the judgement card was a PEACH, he gets to keep the PEACH card, and he can choose to use that PEACH card in his turn.

    In short, his card intake for that round will be 1 (instead of the usual 2), and that 1 card is the judgement card.

    ReplyDelete
  12. If somebody used bing liang cun duan on YL & WC, can he still use his ability if he fails the judgment?

    ReplyDelete
  13. For this card's ability, does it means that if my judgement card is black and in my hand I have 3 red cards, I can use all 3 as Duel?

    ReplyDelete

Site search