Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Lǚ Méng 吕蒙

Posted by Ricky Chua On 2:02 PM 3 comments
Translated description:
"Crossing the river in White Robes 白衣渡江 (bái yī dù jiāng)"

Wikipedia link: Lu Meng Wiki

Who is he:
One of the most prominent generals from the Kingdom of Sun Wu 孙吴, Lu Meng started out as a military general with scant knowledge of tactics and strategy. Following his rising appointments in the Wu Kingdom, Sun Quan 孙权 himself advised Lu Meng to read in his spare time. Lu Meng wisely did so and his wisdom and knowledge made great leaps in a very short time. So impressive was his improvement, in fact, that Sun Quan's able advisor Lu Su 鲁肃 commented the famous phrase:

"When the clueless Lu Meng is under Wu Kingdom's nurturing, one must re-evaluate him in a different light. 吴下阿蒙, 刮目相看"


Character ability: "Self-Mastery 克己 (kè jǐ)"
If you did not use any ATTACK 杀 cards during your action phase, you can skip the discard phase.

(This means he need not discard any cards despite having more cards than he has health units. Note that the use of ATTACK outside of his turn (such as in response to BARBARIANS 南蛮入侵) does not require him to discard his cards either.)

Ability's relation to story:
There appears to be two possible links for "Self-Mastery" to the story. This first is philosophical, where Lu Meng's diligence in his studies is a result of being able to master his time management and overcome his procrastination. He once complained to Sun Quan that he did not have time to read, but Sun Quan aptly replied that himself is busier than Lu Meng yet he can find the time to read.

The second is directly related to the game ability. As displayed in the translated description, Lu Meng crossed a river in white robes for the purpose of deceiving Guan Yu 关羽's troops. Lu Meng's troops hid their weapons and pretended to be merchants (who were dressed in white in those days). Only at the last moment did they break their cover and surprise the enemy. This is indeed very similar to Lu Meng's game character! Always undercover and nondescript, but when he explodes he can be extremely lethal.

Additional info based on story:
1. Most famous achievement - Defeating Guan Yu. One of the key reasons for Guan Yu's defeat was Lu Meng's capture of Jing Zhou 荆州. Lu Meng subsequently treated the citizens of Jing Zhou extremely well, leading to Guan Yu's troops (mainly recruited from Jing Zhou) to desert Guan Yu and return home. With a depleting army, Guan Yu escaped to Mai Cheng 麦城 and was ultimately captured and executed by Sun Quan.

2. Cause of death - Guan Yu's death did not mark the end of Guan Yu. Instead the ghost of Guan Yu possessed Lu Meng at a celebratory banquet thrown by Sun Quan. At the banquet, the possessed Lu Meng grabbed hold of Sun Quan and swore revenge. Lu Meng then collapsed and died. This story ultimately spawned the Demi-God Guan Yu 神关羽 character.

FAQ and Disambiguation

1. When Lu Meng uses ATTACK in a  DUEL, does he need to discard cards after that to his health level?

Ans: That depends on when the DUEL card was used.

1. If Duel is used within Lu Meng's turn (ie. Lu Meng is the one who use the DUEL card), and he uses an ATTACK card during the DUEL process, he will need to discard cards at the end of that turn)

Note the following 2 scenarios where Lu Meng's use of  Duel will not need discarding of cards:

(A) If the victim of Lu Meng's Duel does not respond to the Duel with an attack . Instead the victim chooses to suffer damage immediately.

(B) The victim responds with an attack but Lu Meng chooses not to respond with an attack. In this case, Lu Meng suffers damage.

In both Scenarios(A) and (B) , Lu Meng does not use an Attack  card and therefore need not discard at the discard phase.

2. If the Duel is used outside of Lu Meng's turn (such as he is now the victim of Duel by another player ), Lu Meng does not need to discard cards even if he responds with attack.

3 comments:

  1. I think there are something wrong. Whenever Lu Meng used Duel and return the SHA , he doesnt need to discard his cards. Following the SGS online, they used Duel (then they return the SHA and Lu Meng return the SHA again) to kill 1 rebels and draw extra 3 cards and then used his ability to keep his cards.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. a)hacker b)you missaw what happened or c)glitch

      Delete
    2. I agree. I personally have done the above and could not have held the cards.

      Delete

Site search