Contents Copyright Ricky Chua 2010. Powered by Blogger.

Translate

Most Viewed

Latest SGS Questions

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Wáng Yì 王异

Posted by Ricky Chua On 1:06 PM 30 comments
Translated Description:
"The Elated Damsel 快意的巾帼 (kuài yì dè jīn guò)"

Who is she?
The more I studied up on this new female character, the more confused  I became. The confusion stems from the disparity between Wang Yi in literature/history, and Wang Yi as described in this card. The last adjective I would use to describe her is "Elated"! She attempted suicide twice, covered her body in mud and sh*t for a year, then eventually roused herself up to be a fearsome fighter and steely, ruthless loyalty. Put it this way: how could you call someone "happy and blissful" when this person rather let her sons die in the hands of the enemy than talk peace?

I seriously don't get it. If someone out there knows more about this than I do, please do share!

Wang Yi was the wife of an official called Zhao Ang 赵昂. Her husband is so insignificant that he does not have his own Wiki write-up. Yes, the curry is all Wang Yi, whose life story can be summed up as Princess Diana-turned-Whitney Houston (during her drug episode)-turned-Joan of Arc. While her husband was away, a revolt happened and both her sons died while attempting to quell the rebellion. In the face of certain death, she chose suicide, then decided not to so as to bring up her daughter. She covered herself up in mud and crap so as to stay chaste (and not get savaged by the enemy). When the rebellion ended, Wang Yi and daughter journeyed to meet her husband, but halfway decided to complete her suicide since her daughter was now safe. However she was rescued... then years later became quite the fighter! How did that happen? Read on the find out.

Character ability 1: Death over Desecration 贞烈 (zhēn liè)
Before your judgement card takes effect, you can display the top card of the deck and use it as a substitute.

Character ability 2: Hatch a Plan 秘计 (mì jì)
If you are injured before the beginning (or ending) phase of your turn, you can flip a judgement card. If the judgement card is black-suited, you can view X cards from the top of the deck (X being units of health lost), then give these cards to a player. 

Ability's relation to story:
"Death over Desecration" referred to Wang Yi's action to protect her daughter's and her own chastity. During her husband's leave, some rebellous troops sieged the city and killed her sons, she intended to commit suicide, but he did not so so because no one would protect her daughter after her death. Instead, she covered herself in clothes soaked in sewage of feces. When her husband returned, she intended to commit suicide because it was a responsibility to commit suicide to protect her chastity for her husband in dangerous situations, and she merely delayed this process to protect her daughter.

"Hatch a Plan" referred to Wang Yi's ability to plot when falsely serving her enemies.

Trivia:
For what ever reason, Wang Yi's failed suicides turned her resolve and loyalty to her country as hard as heat-treated steel. She once rode into battle beside her husband, using the bow and arrow as her weapon. She also gave the troops her jewellery, which did wonders for morale. Even after Ma Chao 马超 captured the heir to Zhao Ang (I suspect the heir is not her son, but son of another wife), she bluntly told her husband not to succumb to blackmail, but fight to the death and let the heir die. Die the heir did, but it just shows how merciless and cold Wang Yi became in her fight for her their sovereignty.

Comments by Authors:
I am disappointed by both her illustration and her abilities. The illustration was too sexy, not suiting the fact that she forfeited her beauty to protect her daughter. Her abilities just did not fit the mechanisms. "Death over Desecration" did not show how Wang Yi protected herself. Instead, it showed that she did not surrender to fate. This is a judgment tinkering ability, which makes it complicated when multiple judgement tinkerers are present. Imagine what would happen if Sima Yi, Zhang Jiao and Wang Yi were present... Also, "Hatch a Plan" did not have any relationship to her plots!

I noticed that "Death over Desecration" has been amended since first translation. Now the ability applies only to her own judgement cards, which would make more sense now since she was protecting herself in the story. However "Hatch a Plan" is an enigma to me. I didn't find much reference to her hatching any plans, or what those plans were. It seemed more like she was the trumpet-blower, rallying everyone to fight for their cause. And I still cannot understand why her description is "快意的巾帼"!! Can someone please enlighten us??

How to obtain this character?
Wang Yi is available in the 2012 release of OverKnight Fame, otherwise known as OKF2012 (一将成名2012). Click here to purchase now!

30 comments:

  1. Hi! a reminder that Zhong Hui is up!
    Here's the card description:
    http://wangyou.pcgames.com.cn/zhuanti/sgs/datum/yj2012/1205/2529679.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have translated and sent it to Ricky yesterday. Thx for reminding.

      Delete
  2. Although Wang Yi's abilities do not correlate to history, they are very powerful. She can have a potential of 6 cards drawn in one turn.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Giving it some thought, perhaps 快意 itself is not "快意", but rather, a poetic way of saying she is "思想敏捷"? =) it would make a lot more sense!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think it should be 決意 (determination, aspiration), not 快意. The archaic characters make it difficult to distinguish between 決意 and 快意, but you may compare it with the title of Zhurong 野性的女王 and SP Guan Yu 汉寿亭侯 (notice the difference of the left part of 性 and 汉).

      BTW, even 快意 has its meaning. There is a Chinese phrase, 快意恩仇, which means "elated to reciprocate benign and malignant action".

      To Ricky: I have sent you additional information for Wang Yi. Should you have any questions in the translation of OKF2012 characters, plz feel free to ask me.

      Delete
    2. I actually thought it was 決意 as well, but you guys said it was 快意 so I wasn't sure....

      決意 does indeed make a lot of sense, and while 快意恩仇, I asked me parents which is more likely, and they agree the former makes more sense

      Delete
  4. "Imagine what would happen if Sima Yi, Zhang Jiao and Wang Yi were present..."

    I have noticed online that when Sima Yi and Zhang Jiao are in play and a judgement card is flipped, you look at who's turn it is and go the the right until you reach the first judgement tinkerer. This person changes the judgement first, and the next person has the final say. Each tinkerer is at the mercy of the others when it is their turn, as they change their own judgements first and the the other gets the final say.

    If Wang Yi is added to the equation, I would think that the analysis would be the same. Suppose she flips a judgement card for "Hatch a Plan." Since this happens during her turn, "Death over Desecration" goes first. Then, you go to the right to the first judgement tinkerer, then continue to the right to the tinkerer who has the final say. In other words, I think that whichever tinkerer is to the farthest right of Wang Yi would have the final say in her "Hatch a Plan" Judgement.

    However, lets say that Zhang Jiao is targeting Wang Yi with his "Lightning Strike" and the person who attacked him is to his left and Wang Yi is to Zhang Jiao's right (We will omit Sima for simplicity). In this case, Zhang Jiao would swap the judgement first, then Wang Yi would determine if she wants to flip a new judgment card. I think this is how the unofficial QSanGuoSha computer program handles this situation, but we would have to wait until she is released on the official servers online to know who the developers intended for this to work.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, the judgement would be judged in the sequence from the owner of the turn. But it is so troublesome.Imagine three players tinkering the judgement, twice per a damaged Wang Yi's turn. It is likely that the game would be delayed severely...

      Delete
  5. About relation of Wang Yi`s second skill to history (rough translation of the original author`s reasoning + some info from wiki):

    First of all, it can be activated only if she is injured, which reflects her transition into a warrior after having a tough period of her life.
    The rest of the skill refers to her resistanse against Ma Chao`s assault of Qishan. It is said that she provided her husband with 9 strategies (奇计九条), which resulted in Ma Chao`s retreat. As for in-game theory, if Wang Yi has 3 cards on her hand (max limit due to her max HP) and has only 1 health left, she has nice chances to get 2 cards at the beginning of her turn, draw 2 in the drawing phase and get 2 more at the end of her turn (yes, this skill can be activated twice per turn). In the end we have the total of 9 cards available in one turn, which is the exact number of her proposed strategies.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Remember she has to give the cards away just like she gave the strategies away to her huaband. ^^

      Delete
    2. She doesn't "have to" give it away.

      Delete
    3. You are right. I reread it and it says give to one player, not 1 other player.

      Delete
  6. just a quick question about the new characters, in the booster will it contain all 12? cause i bought one and i only got 10/12 chars, was wondering if its like the demi-gods where only some packs contain them?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am afraid you are cheated or you buy a wrong one. The OKF 2012 booster pack should contain 18 cards, 11 from OKF2012, 4 are revamped OKF 2011 characters, 1 Zhong Hui, 1 cosplay Zhurong and 1 shiny card. Are you sure you buy the OKF2012 booster pack with Han Dang (a horse archer) on the cover?

      Delete
    2. Yeah, I ended up getting the right booster. Only, I got 2 holos instead. I actually got 11 / 12 chars, revamp and etc.

      Delete
  7. So i think descriptions are lacking a bit of detail. For the first ability. After a judgment is performed (meaning a judgment card is flipped), you may then flip another one as a replacement. Is this correct ? Once you activate the ability and flip another card, does it have to be the replacement or can you still choose to leave the old one ? It's important because Zhang Jiao can exchange his cards for the judgment cards.

    The way you have the second ability phrased also does not make sense. "before the beginning (or ending)" phase of your turn". To me this sounds like any time. Do you mean anytime outside of your turn ? like Before your beginning of phase or after your end of turn phase ?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. For the first ability, you can flip another judgement card after a judgement is performed. You cannot leave the old one.

      For the second ability, it means your turn. If phases are stated on the ability's description, it means the specific phases of your turn. You may observe that Ricky adds the phrase "your turn" to further clarify this (the original description does not have the phrase "your turn")...

      BTW, it is the beginning of the beginning phase and the ending phase, not before the beginning phase and the ending phase, but Ricky augments it, though there is slight difference...

      P.S. I really don't understand where it lacks details. May you state it more specifically for our reference?

      Delete
    2. Ah. i think i understand now. Let me run it by again.
      My confusion for the first ability is due to the wording. But after some thought and searching i realized something. You can compare the first sentence to SiMaYi's ability. In Chinese they are the same. However the descriptions are slightly different. For SiMaYi the translation provided state "after a judgment card is flipped", then the description here states "before the judgment takes effect". The later one is accurate. The way i was thinking about it, by stating "before the judgment takes effect" implies that this ability would be activated after the judgment tinkers get their chance. Because first you flip then judgment takes effect. So "after a judgment is flipped" occurs before "before the judgment takes effect".

      Also for the second ability, i was thrown off by the word "damage". simply because there is a large difference between damage (伤害) and a loss of heath (体力流失). Would it me more accurate to state "if your not at maximum health" ?

      Sorry for any confusion.

      Delete
    3. I have one more question while i'm thinking about it. As far as a judgment is concerned, on the cards i see two things, 判定 and 判定牌. Is 判定牌 the card that makes you perform a judgment (ex LIGHTNING) or is it the card flipped to determine your fate?

      Delete
    4. 判定牌 = judgment card (card that flipped over from the top of deck)
      延时类锦囊牌 = Time delay tools card (i.e. LIGHTNING, ACEDIA, RATION DEPLETION)

      Delete
    5. In the Chinese description on the second skill, there is nowhere that says 伤害 or 体力流失. All it said is that during your beginning turn phase and ending turn phase, if your general is "injured" then you can .... Injured means not on max life.

      Delete
  8. "If you are injured before the beginning (or ending) phase of your turn", this mean I have to choose either one;
    - before the beginning phase of my turn, activate the "秘计" ability
    - before the ending phase of my turn, activate the "秘计" ability
    Is my understanding correct?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, it doesn't say "If you are injured before the beginning(or ending) phase of your turn". It says: "During beginning(or ending) phase of your turn, if you are injured, you can activate the ability"

      Delete
    2. So, she can activate the "秘计" ability twice in one turn?

      Delete
  9. If she uses her second ability and the judgement card is not black suited, can she then uses her first ability and do another judgement to replace the first judgement card?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, and she can use her first ability even if the judgement was black(favorable).

      Delete
  10. I got 1 question. If Zhang Jiao target Wang Yi with Lightning Strike, he swapped first or Wang Yi flipped new judgement card first?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That will depend on who's turn it is. The first player who can change the judgment card will be the first to come after the player who's turn it currently is. I believe there is an area about judgment tinkers somewhere on this blog. Check it out.

      Delete
  11. That will depend on who's turn it is. The first player who can change the judgment card will be the first to come after the player who's turn it currently is. I believe there is an area about judgment tinkers somewhere on this blog. Check it out.

    ReplyDelete
  12. If Wang Yi is the RULER, she can get a hell lots of cards when she is at 1 Health Point.

    ReplyDelete

Site search